We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking really”
Review of Middlepark Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middlepark Motel
Ranked #131 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the motel because we had family staying whilst their house was renovated and they put them in the grottiest cottage (a 70s two bedroom shed) and charged them $220 per night for the privilege. We were supposed to be in a similar cottage but they moved us to the motel which was better but hadn't been renovated since the 80s as well. The family had booked for a month and I think it's disgusting how they were treated by the owners!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank trickydickdicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Middlepark Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

This motel is very overpriced very outdated and tired rooms. Carpets need a very good clean. On the plus side set well back from road and very quiet but that is the only plus. The owner was not very helpful with TV reception problems.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peteoamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed with our family and found that the grounds were great for the kids to run around in. Set well back from the road, no boy racer noise which was great. The rooms were clean, new heat pumps installed. The shower pressure was hopeless, but understandable for Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ap1957NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The park like grounds and peaceful surrounds are the upside to this motel. Unfortunately this isn't enough to make up for the very average room we stayed in. The room was sparse and dated.
No iron, ironing board or hairdryer.
This is a basic motel, showing its age, but charging prices comparable to much newer motels with better facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This property is hopelessly inadequate to cope with CHC winters - 1 oil column heater and 1 econo heat. We had to ask for extra heating which was begrudgingly given. I have seen tea towels with greater thermal qualities than the curtains. The rooms are tiny - ok if you have small kids and the bathroom was impossible to warm. Shower delivered a dribble of hot water. Very dated old fashioned kitchen which was poorly equipped. Was not cheap either - cheaper yes but not cheap. Only 2 positives - lovely setting and cottages were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macattakmanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent four nights in Christchurch late February 2013 and were lucky enough to “stumble” across this very pleasant motel. Spacious and quiet grounds, well spaced units and all of the comforts we could ask for to enjoy a four night stay. Parked the hired vehicle and used the local buses to the wonderful city of Christchurch and were able to walk to shops, restaurants and whatever else we needed. Sue was kind enough to assist with advice re tours, taxis and whatever else we asked of her and we were extremely grateful for the courtesies extended to us by both Vaughan and Sue. Recommended as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02squirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We found ourselves staying here by default as our booking elsewhere had been mysteriously "cancelled". How lucky we were !!! The propietors went above and beyond to accomodate us and make our first stay in New Zealand memorable. Our 2 br unit was set back on the spacious, well maintained grounds of the property and, even though we were on a main road, the only sounds we heard were the birds. The unit iself had a large living area, was comfortably furnished and fully equipped if we wished to cook. The alfresco area outside was a great place to relax after the day's outings. We even had a hedgehog do it's nightly walk in the pretty garden area !!! Comfortable beds provided a great night's sleep and it was great having virtually instant hot water in the shower and kitchen. The unit was maintained daily and there was no shortage of anything we required. Supermarkets, restaurants, even a Westfield shopping centre are in close location and the city itself is only about 10 minutes away. All in all, a great place to stay. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueG2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.4 mi away
Econolodge Canterbury Court
Econolodge Canterbury Court
#88 of 146 in Christchurch
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalfi Motor Lodge
Amalfi Motor Lodge
#72 of 146 in Christchurch
47 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.8 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlepark Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlepark Motel

Address: 120 Main South Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8443, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $77 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation set in one hectare of quiet, park like surroundings with a large central playground. Seven studios, six family units and seven separate cottages all with full kitchen facilities, serviced daily. Situated away from traffic noise with easy access off street parking and plenty of room to relax. Pets welcome by arrangement. 10 kms from city centre and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Middlepark Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing