We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Bed & Breakfast Apartment

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chester Bed & Breakfast Apartment
Ranked #83 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Jan and Jennifer could not have been more accommodating and helpful as we started our vacation on NZ's Southern Island, and the apartment suite is quite comfortable with a sophisticated decor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

A luxurious bed and breakfast in a nice quiet street in Christchurch. It's a very peaceful location and a lovely stylish building.
Close to most amenities and a short walk to the bus stop.
The hosts were very friendly and accommodating.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had initially booked two long weekends for September 2011 at The Chester, for England's originally planned RWC games. Games were switched to Dunedin and Jan, our host, immediately released us from any obligation, which was a generous gesture considering we had reserved the accommodation a year earlier. That seemed totally unfair, so we reached a compromise and we stayed there just one long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Jan & Jennifer were extremely hospitable, friendly and helpful. The accommodation was very comfortable and the eating arrangements suited us very well. The Chester is located close to Christchurch Centre (which is closed, of course) but we found plenty of things to do - Hagley Park, The Avon River walks, Canterbury Museum etc. There are still plenty of restaurants/cafes open close to the centre and we enjoyed some good meals. We were really pleased that we kept Christchurch on our itinerary and we thoroughly recommend The Chester as a convenient, comfortable and friendly place to stay. Good Luck Christchurch!
'TnJuk'

Room Tip: There's just one double en-suite room with a dining room in this apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TnJuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verchaix, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

we past our last night in New Zealand in this lovely appartment easy to find and a 10-minute walk from downtown of christchurch. The hosts are hospitable and very good advice to find the rental car , petrol station and to go to the airport before leaving new zealand.

We past a good night and have a good breakfast even if we would have liked to take it with our guests to discuss with them a little more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

Self-contained B and B accommodation on quiet street within walking distance of central Christchurch. Continental breakfast is brought to your room or left in fridge for you to have at your leisure. Large, clean room and pleasant and helpful owners. Eating places nearby without need to go into Christchurch.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalbergia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

The decor to this room is very stylish and quirky. I really liked it and it had a nice feel. the location is great, being very close to the Christchurch city centre. The hosts were also nice, friendly people. My only complaint is that I found the mattress a bit hard, so my sleep quality wasn't the best.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire, england
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

We had 2 nights in Christchurch and found this b&b very comfortable and ideally situated for visiting the city centre, restaraunts etc. within easy walking distance. The b&b is very functional and tastefully furnished but there's no view whatsoever or garden and it's only of any use if you want to visit Christchurch centre. The owner was very pleasant and helpful and gave us some good information which was useful. There was some noise outside from youths in the early hours of one morning and from street machinery the following day so I guess it's not the place for a quiet lie in. The b&b met our needs though. I personally found Christchurch pretty dull and thankfully we only spent half a day wandering around and headed for Akoroa which was a super place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taffy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
#12 of 139 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.7 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#131 of 148 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
2.2 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Bed & Breakfast Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Bed & Breakfast Apartment

Property: The Chester Bed & Breakfast Apartment
Address: 341C Armagh Street | City East, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Bed & Breakfast in Christchurch, New Zealand, offers all modern comforts and amenities. It is conveniently situated within easy walking distance of the Christchurch City Centre, restaurants, casino and perfect for holiday or business when you are in Christchurch. Relax in an entire floor, consisting of a large elegantly furnished bedroom with super king size bed which can be twin confiqured opening out onto a private terrace. The room has a luxurious en-suite bathroom and breakfast/dressing room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing