We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B and Lovely Hosts”

Onuku Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onuku Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B and Lovely Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family stayed at Onuku at the beginning of April over two nights and absolutely loved it. The view was amazing, the breakfast delicious and Jenny and Bob couldn't have been more attentive and caring hosts. When we got caught in traffic on our way to Onuku to collect Dad for our daughter's graduation, Bob told us not to worry and went out of his way to drop Dad at the venue so we all made it on time. We felt really special and Jenny and Bob's hospitality was very much appreciated by us all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewZealandMidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cotuit, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were in NZ for 5+weeks, and Onuku was our first of 10 b&bs, and what a perfect way to start a great trip!! Jenny was so very welcoming, the place is just fabulous -- modern, clean, sweeping views, great hot breakfasts and fresh plums for us! Excellent bed, great shower, and a friendly dog! Only thing missing was a person: Bob! Wish we could have met him, but he was guiding others around the fabulous countryside. And Christchurch should not be missed! People were so very glad to see Americans, which is a little different from receptions in SOME countries. Tourists are practically hugged! We caught the preview of the Festival of Flowers- gorgeous!
Thanks again to Jenny for her gracious hospitality!!
Kathy and Richard White, SC, VT and Cape Cod

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband I stayed there for only two nights, but we loved it. Bob and Jenny are genuine and very caring people. They greeted us as if we were long lost friends. They welcomed us into their home by offering excellent conversation and a glass of wine. Their home is beautiful and the views are amazing. Jenny cooked a wonderful breakfast. It was hot and made to order, plus we got to eat some fresh peaches off their tree in the backyard. The room was simple, but comfortable. It was a nice quiet retreat with wonderful hosts. We enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Having booked into Bealeys we needed rescuing - thanks to the internet we found Onuku. 10 minutes later we were being welcomed by Jenny into her beautiful home. She made us feel so relaxed and at home, along with her other guest sat chatting until late. The 4 of us went for a walk on the hill behind the house. Loved the house, amazing views, great location. On our last day we went hill walking and had the opportunity to return to the house & shower before leaving for our flights home, how good was that. Spending our last two nights here was the perfect end to a fab holiday. Thanks Jenny

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Unfortunately we visited off season so only Bob was home, only just back from the North Island ... so we missed Reggie - but heard all about him.

Bob welcomed us into his house like we were old and treasured friends - nothing was too much trouble.

Will definitely be back when we can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Bob and Jenny could not have been more helpful and accomodating to us. Their home is near the top of Cashmere Hills and is beautiful with a wonderful view overlooking Christchurch and the bay. Reggie, their dog, was very friendly as well. Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and presented. Bob passed on to use some good tips for our tour of South Island and was very helpful in all respects. The accomodations [we had a bedroom with queensize bed and also a lounge] was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. I would recommend them to anyone. If we are able to return to Christchurch in the future, I hope we will be able to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelepeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

Jenny & Bob have a beautiful house which is high up in Cashmere and has a good view down into Christchurch. Made to feel very welcome and even Reggie the labrador was very welcoming. The accomodation and food was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Dyers House
Dyers House
#21 of 130 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.4 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
7.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.3 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onuku Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onuku Bed and Breakfast

Property: Onuku Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 Harry Ell Drive | Cashmere, Christchurch 8022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Onuku Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing