We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B is amazing”

Onuku Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Onuku Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #45 of 135 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband I stayed there for only two nights, but we loved it. Bob and Jenny are genuine and very caring people. They greeted us as if we were long lost friends. They welcomed us into their home by offering excellent conversation and a glass of wine. Their home is beautiful and the views are amazing. Jenny cooked a wonderful breakfast. It was hot and made to order, plus we got to eat some fresh peaches off their tree in the backyard. The room was simple, but comfortable. It was a nice quiet retreat with wonderful hosts. We enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Onuku Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

Having booked into Bealeys we needed rescuing - thanks to the internet we found Onuku. 10 minutes later we were being welcomed by Jenny into her beautiful home. She made us feel so relaxed and at home, along with her other guest sat chatting until late. The 4 of us went for a walk on the hill behind the house. Loved the house, amazing views, great location. On our last day we went hill walking and had the opportunity to return to the house & shower before leaving for our flights home, how good was that. Spending our last two nights here was the perfect end to a fab holiday. Thanks Jenny

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Unfortunately we visited off season so only Bob was home, only just back from the North Island ... so we missed Reggie - but heard all about him.

Bob welcomed us into his house like we were old and treasured friends - nothing was too much trouble.

Will definitely be back when we can.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Bob and Jenny could not have been more helpful and accomodating to us. Their home is near the top of Cashmere Hills and is beautiful with a wonderful view overlooking Christchurch and the bay. Reggie, their dog, was very friendly as well. Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and presented. Bob passed on to use some good tips for our tour of South Island and was very helpful in all respects. The accomodations [we had a bedroom with queensize bed and also a lounge] was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. I would recommend them to anyone. If we are able to return to Christchurch in the future, I hope we will be able to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelepeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Jenny & Bob have a beautiful house which is high up in Cashmere and has a good view down into Christchurch. Made to feel very welcome and even Reggie the labrador was very welcoming. The accomodation and food was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed with Jenny and Bob for nearly a month in January and February 2011. They are excellent hosts and their home is a great place to stay. The view of the city is unbeatable from their home. We were in the process of relocating to NZ from the States and Jenny and Bob made us feel very much at home while we stayed. Another benefit, which we were very glad of as of the quake on 22 Feb was that their home was designed by a seismic engineer, which allowed it to escape unscathed. While the central business district in ChCh may not be open for a while, there are plenty of other things to do in the Canterbury region which are open for business. Onuku is a great home base for all your activities in this region.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveinchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

[--]
I am so thankful that we found Onuku. Their home is a modern architectural masterpiece with breathtaking views. The hosts were generous and have considerable knowledge about the area and NZ as a whole. They are happy to help with planning and arrangements. We had a few home cooked meals which were better than what we found in the restaurants. Our room had nice touches and the bed was very very comfortable. This was just our style. We can’t wait to make it back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liviadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Featherstone B&B
Featherstone B&B
#41 of 135 in Christchurch
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hackthorne Gardens Luxury Accommodation
Hackthorne Gardens Luxury Accomm...
#59 of 105 in Christchurch
3 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
8.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.3 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onuku Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onuku Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Harry Ell Drive | Cashmere, Christchurch 8022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $98 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Onuku Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing