We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place and couple” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clearview Lodge
Ranked #11 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“great place and couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Thankyou for such a nice stay, the rooms are spacious and clean with very comfortable beds! Robin and Sue are very warm people which you can feel translate all throughout the house. we really enjoyed trying their own pinot noir and port and sitting havng a chat about christchurch with them. it is a nice and casual property to be in and explore christchurch with a great homely feel.

thanks again, we look forward to seeing your vineyard and property next time with weather permitting!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
94
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stopped off for two nights while on a work trip, wanting to be out in some country air. Excellent place, very tidy and well organised, and the setting, while not dramatic for a visitor from abroad, was beautiful. The garden itself is worth being in. Very kind hosts too. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cape-Town-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic stay at this beautiful estate home with the perfect hosts Sue and Robin. The grounds were amazing with the vineyards, olive tree groves and wonderful gardens, and the bedroom was lovely and provided a great night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was delicious too - an overall wonderful NZ B&B! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingterps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Robin and Sue were very accommodating. Showed us to our room with a beautiful view with a beautiful view of the grounds (including flower gardens and orchards), had menus available for local restaurants and a beautiful lounge area where guests could gather for a glass of wine or beer. Sue even offered to drive us and the other guests to the restaurants we chose so we didn't have to drive which meant we could take in more wine! And, they arranged for a local guide to give a tour of Christchurch on very short notice. Breakfast was wonderful with hot and cold options - wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This B&B was so conveniently close to the airport, had no idea but made coming an going so relaxing. Our hosts were warm and friendly and so helpful in helping us find our way around. You most take a tour of their beautiful gardens and vineyards. They have olive trees, walnut trees, chestnut trees, etc etc. It was so interesting just to see all they do an it was so beautifully done. Our rooms where big and first class. One of our nicest stays in NZ. We were very glad we paid the extra an stayed with them. A perfect ending to our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Suzan and Robin were very hospitable even before I set foot in their B&B. I had questions that I emailed them and in that email, I mentioned a tour I reserved. Suzan actually called the tour company, confirmed my pick-up time and made sure I had time for breakfast ( included) and sent me all that in an email before I left USA.. She also took me on a tour in her amazing garden and vineyards. I highly recommend you accept her invitation for the tour. It is amazing. The room itself was very clean with all the amenities you find in any 5 stars hotels. I was also invited to use the guests living room and library. Waking up and seeing the amazing scenery around me was invigorating. I did not want to leave. May be I could have used the helicopter parked in their neighbour's backyard to tour the area. May be next time!

Room Tip: If you are planning to bring children, call Robin and Sue first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This B&B on the outskirts of Christchurch, New Zealand and near the airport deserves a superlative rating in every respect. The facility was built in the past 10 years specifically to be a very special B&B. And, it is. Our host and hostess for our one night (wished we could have stayed longer), Robin and Sue Clements, were most gracious. We arrived late and had to leave early. They greeted us warmly upon our arrival and offered a glass of wine (declined because of the hour). The room was very spacious and the amenities in the bedroom and bathroom were well designed and considered. The sitting room/lounge for the guests was delightful. For breakfast, they arranged to be available for us earlier than the usual time because we needed to leave for the airport at an early hour. Then, the final positive aspect of hospitality and "going beyond" what would be expected; our locally arranged transportation did not arrive and would not have arrived soon enough to take us to the airport on time. Sue offered to drive us to the airport so that we could make our flight (we did). We have stayed in B&Bs throughout the US, in Ireland, England, Sweden, Italy, Australia and New Zealand. The Clearview Lodge and experience is the best we have ever had in more than 25 B&B experiences.

Room Tip: Every room would be good as there are only a few. They look out onto the gardens so no room would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.0 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
5.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
4.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearview Lodge

Property: Clearview Lodge
Address: 8 Clearwater Avenue | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clearview Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our intimate 5 Star vineyard B&B with just 3 en-suite rooms. Enjoy a glass of our Pinot Noir in peaceful private gardens. A haven to come home to after a busy day exploring Christchurch and Canterbury. Only 15 minutes to Christchurch city centre, less to International Airport. Just off SH1, 40 minutes to Waipara wineries, 90 minutes to Hanmer Springs and Akaroa, 20-30 minutes to Tranzalpine train, Walk to Clearwater Golf Resort, Lakes Restaurant, Kiwi at Willowbank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clearview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing