We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clearview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clearview Lodge
Ranked #10 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“B&B at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This B&B was so conveniently close to the airport, had no idea but made coming an going so relaxing. Our hosts were warm and friendly and so helpful in helping us find our way around. You most take a tour of their beautiful gardens and vineyards. They have olive trees, walnut trees, chestnut trees, etc etc. It was so interesting just to see all they do an it was so beautifully done. Our rooms where big and first class. One of our nicest stays in NZ. We were very glad we paid the extra an stayed with them. A perfect ending to our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
95
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Suzan and Robin were very hospitable even before I set foot in their B&B. I had questions that I emailed them and in that email, I mentioned a tour I reserved. Suzan actually called the tour company, confirmed my pick-up time and made sure I had time for breakfast ( included) and sent me all that in an email before I left USA.. She also took me on a tour in her amazing garden and vineyards. I highly recommend you accept her invitation for the tour. It is amazing. The room itself was very clean with all the amenities you find in any 5 stars hotels. I was also invited to use the guests living room and library. Waking up and seeing the amazing scenery around me was invigorating. I did not want to leave. May be I could have used the helicopter parked in their neighbour's backyard to tour the area. May be next time!

Room Tip: If you are planning to bring children, call Robin and Sue first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This B&B on the outskirts of Christchurch, New Zealand and near the airport deserves a superlative rating in every respect. The facility was built in the past 10 years specifically to be a very special B&B. And, it is. Our host and hostess for our one night (wished we could have stayed longer), Robin and Sue Clements, were most gracious. We arrived late and had to leave early. They greeted us warmly upon our arrival and offered a glass of wine (declined because of the hour). The room was very spacious and the amenities in the bedroom and bathroom were well designed and considered. The sitting room/lounge for the guests was delightful. For breakfast, they arranged to be available for us earlier than the usual time because we needed to leave for the airport at an early hour. Then, the final positive aspect of hospitality and "going beyond" what would be expected; our locally arranged transportation did not arrive and would not have arrived soon enough to take us to the airport on time. Sue offered to drive us to the airport so that we could make our flight (we did). We have stayed in B&Bs throughout the US, in Ireland, England, Sweden, Italy, Australia and New Zealand. The Clearview Lodge and experience is the best we have ever had in more than 25 B&B experiences.

Room Tip: Every room would be good as there are only a few. They look out onto the gardens so no room would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a wonderful luxury boutique Bed and Breakfast owned and operated by the nicest hosts Sue & Robin Clements.We stayed one night but wish it had been more.
In spite of the devastation in Christchurch City Centre - they are safely located close to the Airport and the City by-pass road.Minutes from one of NZ's finest golf courses with their own winery and olive grove. The garden is fabulous too - a true 110% pure NZ

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The perfect B and B experience. Friendly, helpful and gracious. We felt at home on this 10 acre paradise of grape vines, olive trees and flower beds. Mark sure to try the wine that they make from the Pinot noir grapes grown on property.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank globalsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better place to unwind after a long flight. Owners Robin & Sue Clements were incredibly welcoming and attentive - making sure we had everything we needed, preparing fabulous breakfasts (and dining with us), driving us to local activities and joining us for evening wine (theirs!) and conversation. This is a fantastic and intimate setting and I wish we could have stayed much longer than just 2 days.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms to choose from and all are superb! Two are upstairs and one is on the main f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived at the Clearview Lodge after a tiring 14+1 hour flight.
Also this was our first ever B & B experience and thankfully it turned out to be great.
The rooms were spacious and Big! Clean and Tidy ! Very well stocked too.
Breakfast was excellent courtsey Robin & Sue. Sue went out of her way to hurry some muffins for us on our way out. She also guided us to the right places in town.
They have quite a large garden and we could smell some grapes, berries, apple and stuff.
All in all a very a nice experience and hopefully will be back some day soon.
Thanks Robin & Sue for making us feel wanted!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
5.0 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.4 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearview Lodge

Property: Clearview Lodge
Address: 8 Clearwater Avenue | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clearview Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our intimate 5 Star vineyard B&B with just 3 en-suite rooms. Enjoy a glass of our Pinot Noir in peaceful private gardens. A haven to come home to after a busy day exploring Christchurch and Canterbury. Only 15 minutes to Christchurch city centre, less to International Airport. Just off SH1, 40 minutes to Waipara wineries, 90 minutes to Hanmer Springs and Akaroa, 20-30 minutes to Tranzalpine train, Walk to Clearwater Golf Resort, Lakes Restaurant, Kiwi at Willowbank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing