We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Airways Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airways Motel
Ranked #20 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Needed a place to stay close airport, this was perfect. Friendly staff, clean and tidy and very well priced. A little noisy but that can expected close to the airport. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

Needed to stay close to the airport . Arrived about 4pm good efficient service .
Units OK nice and clean everything you need .
Wifi not working but did not ask as it was not important for our short stay. We a a twin room but one bed was a double so not a lot of space .
Toilet a poor flusher . heater good , no noisy air con . very small TV .
Good for the stop over commute to airport but would not want several days.

Room Tip: A lot of people do leave early to catch flights so a bit noisy on ground level , may be better up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We arrived late and very tired after our flight. The key was left for us in the lock box and the townhouse was comfortable, warm and with essentials like teabags provided (something we were very grateful for!). Easy to find, good value for money and excellent communication from staff. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Annie_Bels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Was well looked after, thanks Lynne for going the extra mile. Made for a stress less stay. Was so handy to all services and room very comfortable. Will definitely be back. Will be recommending it to friends

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Very happy with our stay. Very friendly staff. Lovely clean room. Plenty of room to move about.
The shuttle bus lady was very nice & helpful. A great place to stay & was excellent value for money. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilliput9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Chose to stay here last minute flying into Christchurch at the beginning of May and Lynn, the owner, gave us the warmest welcoming. Our flight had been delayed, she came to pick us up, made sure we had everything, and showed us to our nice and clean room. The rooms are comfortable with TV, free wifi, and very clean. Great for the price! Nice and close to the airport too. What really makes this place is the owner Lynn. We ended up staying here again later on our trip because she was so kind. Ask her anything and she is willing to help or give you directions to what you need. She is very accommodating and let us do our laundry there and offered to drive us to a close by restaurant! An amazing, lovely lady. I admire her effort and success to keep this place running. We were sad to say goodbye.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emweez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was the worst place we have stayed in for a long time. The towel rail had been torn off the wall and propped against the bathroom wall. Two cupboards were off their hinges. The bath had mildew growing around it. The double bed was hard against the wall. The heater was hard against the sofa and thus inefficient. We had to pay up front, not the usual NZ motel policy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airways8, Manager at Airways Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

We are incredibly distressed at reading your review. Unfortunately we had contractors working in your unit on the day of your arrival, and this work had not been completed - this is entirely our fault, and we apologise. All problems have been fixed, as well as the heater against the sofa for more efficient use. We do take guest comments and comlpaints seriously, especially when this relates to a downfall on our part - if you are travelling to Christchurch in the future, we would like the oppotunity to show you that this was a one off. In regards to motel payment upfront, we do take payment on checkin - only for the reason of convenience for when guests checkout they just have to hand in their key - quick and easy. If you wanted to pay on checkout, this is no problem at all.

Regards
MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
3.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,969 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,282 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Motel

Address: 3 Dinton Street, Russley Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $77 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Early Airport Drop-off starts from 3:45am (conditions apply). Long term parking $3 per day is ONLY available for guests who book accommodation via our motel direct subject to availability by arrangement (not via any agent or third-party website). When you arrive in a strange city, it's nice to know you've got friends just minutes away. Your hosts at the Airways Motel in Christchurch, pride themselves in offering friendly, personalised service and clean, comfortable, stylish motel accommodation - serviced apartments just 5 minutes from the Christchurch Airport. Whether you are bringing the kids to visit family for the week, on your way to ski fields or just in transit, at the Airways Motel we have a range of Christchurch accommodation to suit your needs and all accompanied with the warmest of welcomes. Our Christchurch motel is located on the North/South Bypass and at the West Coast cross roads,10 minutes from the city centre , 5 minutes from the Airport and is ideally situated for all travellers. With 19 modern motel units to choose from you're guaranteed a comfortable and affordable stay in Christchurch. Our special accommodation feature is a fully self-contained Townhouse with a private garden, spa bath, and full laundry facilities. Ideal for families relocating, long stay guests, larger groups, or for those who prefer extra space and the home away from home feel. When it's time to go home, remember, the Airways Motel is only 5 minutes from Christchurch international/domestic airport and provides a Free Airport Shuttle Service by pre-arrangement (7am-9pm on weekdays and 8am-9am on weekends/Public holidays). PLEASE NOTE: SHUTTLE DOES NOT OPERATE ON CHRISTMAS EVE, CHRISTMAS DAY, BOXING DAY, NEW YEARS EVE AND NEW YEARS DAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Airways Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Christchurch
Airways Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing