We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of Airways Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airways Motel
Ranked #12 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good Experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed 2 nights. The complex was very tidy and the room was terrific. Very clean and tidy. Bed was really comfortable. Facilities was good. Choice on TV channels was good. Peaceful and quiet. Check in was early than I expected which helped. The staff were very helpful and very charming. Would certainly recommend this. You will not be disappointed with this.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    165
    41
    8
    12
See reviews for
125
144
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Service exceptional & friendly, rooms very clean & tidy, beds with electric blankets, our flight wasn't till late afternoon and they had no problems with us staying till mid afternoon! close to airport and they offer a free shuttle! For a quick overnight stay this place is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jit70499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We needed a place quickly after missing a connecting flight.

Airways was just a few minutes from the airport, picked us up almost immediately in their airport transfer van.

Free and good wifi

The motel looks older but the rooms are comfortable and very clean. Fridge, microwave, great shower, plenty of toiletries.

Front desk arranged an early morning cab for us at a very inexpensive rate.

Only drawback was no restaurants in walking distance but there's a convenience store nearby.

It was one of the most affordable motels we could find & had no problems whatsoever with them.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolinahawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have stayed at this motel on several occasions mainly because in the past they had a very good early morning shuttle service to the airport ,but not anymore. I understand the motel is now under new management. If you want to catch an early flight out you will need to book a taxi to the airport which cost $20. You can add that to the cost of your accommodation, so be careful when comparing prices of other accommodation!!
They do offer a very good service offering a washing machine and clothes dryer at a minimal cost.The wall heater in the room was appreciated.
There is 24 hour gas station across the road offering a good choice of takeaway food and confectionery items..
The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and coffee and milk are provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnny035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosgiel, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I cannot recommend this Motel enough. Nice and close to Airport which was great as we had to get there for our Sons early flight. They were extremely accommodating with very reasonable rates and great rooms with lovely clean comfortable bedding. I will be certainly recommending this to my friends and staying there myself again. Once again Many Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacben2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
194 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived quite late, as expected, so the close proximity to the airport was a plus. The room was small- the smallest of the 13 places that we stayed on this trip- and the manager was unfriendly. We only stayed for 7 hours to catch some shut eye so we really didn't care, as we weren't expecting much. If you have low expectations, this is the place for you.

Tom S. Montana, USA

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airways8, Manager at Airways Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thankyou for your comments. As we are conveniently located close to Christchurch Airport, we believe that our motel and pricing are extremely competitive compared with other airport motels in the area. It is an unfair comparison to make with other properties you have stayed throughout New Zealand unless they were 13 similar 'airport motel' establishments. Our lead in room types like the one that you would have booked is ideal for a brief inexpensive stay.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nothing was any trouble to Lynn and we will definitely go back when ever we are in Chch. We had 1 night in the townhouse which had everything before we travelled South and had another night on our return before flying home. The unit was just as comfortable and we were taken to the airport in the shuttle. Convenient location for airport and travelling North or South.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 389raewynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
2.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
5.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,258 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
712 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Motel

Property: Airways Motel
Address: Cnr Russley Rd & Dinton St, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive in a strange city, it's nice to know you've got friends just minutes away. Your hosts at the Airways Motel in Christchurch, pride themselves in offering friendly, personalised service and clean, comfortable, stylish motel accommodation - serviced apartments just 5 minutes from the Christchurch Airport. Whether you are bringing the kids to visit family for the week, on your way to ski fields or just in transit, at the Airways Motel we have a range of Christchurch accommodation to suit your needs and all accompanied with the warmest of welcomes. Our Christchurch motel is located on the North/South Bypass and at the West Coast cross roads,10 minutes from the city centre , 5 minutes from the Airport and is ideally situated for all travellers. With 19 modern motel units to choose from you're guaranteed a comfortable and affordable stay in Christchurch. Our special accommodation feature is a fully self-contained Townhouse with a private garden, spa bath, and full laundry facilities. Ideal for families relocating, long stay guests, larger groups, or for those who prefer extra space and the home away from home feel. When it's time to go home, remember, the Airways Motel is only 5 minutes from Christchurch international/domestic airport and provides a Free Airport Shuttle Service by pre-arrangement (8am-8pm on the hour). PLEASE NOTE: SHUTTLE DOES NOT OPERATE ON CHRISTMAS EVE, CHRISTMAS DAY, BOXING DAY, NEW YEARS EVE AND NEW YEARS DAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Airways Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Christchurch
Airways Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing