We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Airways Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airways Motel
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

On arrival at Christchurch airport the service was good. Although I had emailed the my arrival time at time of booking I was told it was late when I rang to be picked up by the receptionist.

The driver was very polite and helpful on arrival.

Accomodation in Christchurch is expensive so I found this comparative for the service and room. The room smelt so clean which I was happy with.

Room Tip: Be prepared to bring your own soap and as I was a solo traveller, only 1 towel was provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank faa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 460 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We needed a place to stay in Christchurch to catch an early morning flight. This motel is very handy, and the shuttle service is very good. The rooms are budget, but very clean and comfortable. For a place to get some sleep before or after your international flight, this is ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

appalling PR - fortunately found out before I arrived, Had booked through Booking.com - got an email to Dear (nothing) - the third time, after I had gone through the effort of changing my credit card details with Booking.com and still receiving unsatisfactory emails (still to Dear (nothing)) from the motel is enough to put me off staying there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Needed to catch an early morning flight and chose this one because it has a free 24 hour shuttle service and we could leave the hire car here for the company to collect. Upstairs room near the busy road so a bit of noise but the glazing kept most of it out. Mirrors made unit look a bit more spacious than it was. Tiny TV. Wi-fi unlimited but kept disappearing so very frustrating. Microwave but no hob or pans or sink and minimal cooking equipment.

Some food options in 24 hour Caltex next door. Otherwise eating out here requires car or bus or use of one of the restaurant shuttles.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport and the shuttle service offered. Upon arrival at the airport which was close to midnight, the shuttle arrived within 10 minutes and check it was smooth. We had a one bedroom which was small but sufficient for overnight. Wifi was a bonus the next morning while waiting for the shuttle to head back to the airport. Rooms were clean and tidy but nothing extraordinary. Staff were all pleasant and we would use again for the same overnight purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwysluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Three of us paid for a family room, which was well over-priced. The accommodation is clean, and parking convenient, but there are absolutely no luxuries. Next time we will search for alternative accommodation in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmoothwaterHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is over priced on what you get, room is like a box very out dated. Don't pay for an up grade. Staff seemed friendly not presentable. Transport to airport was punctual. Room cleanliness was poor. Spa upgrade I would not recommend it's a bath tub . Bed is very small and out dated. Would recommend staying in riccarton close to airport still with the advantage of having everything close to your accomodation and catching a shuttle.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
2,281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
3.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.9 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
807 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Motel

Address: Russley Road 3 Dinton Street, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $81 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Early Airport Drop-off starts from 3:45am (conditions apply). When you arrive in a strange city, it's nice to know you've got friends just minutes away. Your hosts at the Airways Motel in Christchurch, pride themselves in offering friendly, personalised service and clean, comfortable, stylish motel accommodation - serviced apartments just 5 minutes from the Christchurch Airport. Whether you are bringing the kids to visit family for the week, on your way to ski fields or just in transit, at the Airways Motel we have a range of Christchurch accommodation to suit your needs and all accompanied with the warmest of welcomes. Our Christchurch motel is located on the North/South Bypass and at the West Coast cross roads,10 minutes from the city centre , 5 minutes from the Airport and is ideally situated for all travellers. With 19 modern motel units to choose from you're guaranteed a comfortable and affordable stay in Christchurch. Our special accommodation feature is a fully self-contained Townhouse with a private garden, spa bath, and full laundry facilities. Ideal for families relocating, long stay guests, larger groups, or for those who prefer extra space and the home away from home feel. When it's time to go home, remember, the Airways Motel is only 5 minutes from Christchurch international/domestic airport and provides a Free Airport Shuttle Service by pre-arrangement (7am-9pm on weekdays and 8am-9am on weekends/Public holidays). PLEASE NOTE: SHUTTLE DOES NOT OPERATE ON CHRISTMAS EVE, CHRISTMAS DAY, BOXING DAY, NEW YEARS EVE AND NEW YEARS DAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airways Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Christchurch
Airways Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing