We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”
Review of Airways Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airways Motel
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Airways Motel the night before living Christchurch. It's place is great for a short stay. owners are very helpful and the free 24H shuttle service to the airport is fantastic.
The rooms are clean and well appointed, location, a little bit away from the airport excellent.
For the ones traveling by camper van, we first checked in at the hotel before handing over the vehicle at the airport. Very convenient, there is a petrol station just round the corner.
Finally, ask the owner a place for dinner as they have good recommendations.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yann-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 453 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Airways Motel quite a few times now when I have a stop over in Christchurch on my way to Nelson and always found the service fantastic. I had my partner with me last time in October 2011 we had a stop over in Christchurch on our way back to Australia and he agreed the service was excellent. I have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the rooms are always clean and tidy. The free shuttle service they provide is awesome as I have often had midnight flighst into christchurch from Australia and 6am flights leaving Christchurch back to Australia and it's never been a problem to pick up or drop off at those times when arranged.
A great place to stay keep up the good work guys see you again soon. Kellie & Colin

Room Tip: Downstars rooms are more convenient if only stopping over with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Everything was easy. When I arrived it was freezing cold outside & the owner had put the heater & lights on in my room for me in advance making it easy to relax once i checked in. I organised the shuttle when i arrived & it was co-ordinated with the departure of other guests & i recieved a wake up call. The shuttle left promply on time & i was at the airport with plenty of time to spare. The room was very nice & spottless. The bathroom was very modern with excellent heating & my bed had an electric blanket. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We went to Christchurch for our grandsons first birthday.Needing accomadation that was both close to where our son lived,yet affordable for four Adults and two Children.We found all of this at the Airways Motel Christchurch.Offering free shuttle pick up and drop off at the Airport.Great for us as our sons house was just down the road and around the corner.To our amazement a van was offered free {just the petrol cost} for us to use as our transport,while we stayed.We were impressed with the ajoinging rooms-Two Queen beds-two single,two kitchenetts,two Televisons with Wi Fi and internet {free} and two bathrooms.it was a great weekend and very nice affordable accomadation.

Room Tip: When travilling with more than one child,ask for the family room as it has bigger accomadation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed there on 12June. Always made welcome. Unit was warm and clean,. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annasorsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

With my arrival delayed due to heavy snow in Canterbuy and unable to safely drive on the country roads I decided that on arrival I would try and pick up a hotel close to the airport. Well flight got even more delayed and with the likelihood of fog on arrival I decided to wait until the aircraft had safely made it in before booking a room with anyone. Did not get into 2am, snow everywhere and freezing. Called the usual suspects around the airport without sucess then tried the hotline in the arrivals hall which listed the Airways Motel. They picked up the phone straight away, confrimed a room was available (very reasonable $100) and would be down to pick me up in 5 min with another couple who had also just called. Van arrived on time and meet by a very cheery driver who wisked us back to the motel. On arrival, he dispatched us to our rooms, will do the paperwork in the morning- Brilliant! Lights where on and so was the heating, truly a lovely bit of Kiwi Hospitality. Nice and quite too even though is close to the airport (but not on the flight path) Free WiFi meant I could update everyone on my arrival and plans for later in the morning and the 24 hour service station 100m nearby covered my morning shopping needs nicely. Support these guys they deserve it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiMike111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed for one night and it was just great. Nice clean room, heater and good reception on the TV. My family had booked the main house with a few bedrooms,kitchen ect, and they didnt have enough room for my self and 2 cousin's. So i went to reception to see how much 1 room would be for the night. $130 was a great price for king and single beds. Gareth very friendly and was up nice and early to take us to the international airport at 5am.

Thanks you so much, and we will be back to stay with you when ever in CHCH.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#20 of 146 in Christchurch
276 reviews
5.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.9 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
782 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Motel

Address: Russley Road 3 Dinton Street, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $78 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Early Airport Drop-off starts from 3:45am (conditions apply). When you arrive in a strange city, it's nice to know you've got friends just minutes away. Your hosts at the Airways Motel in Christchurch, pride themselves in offering friendly, personalised service and clean, comfortable, stylish motel accommodation - serviced apartments just 5 minutes from the Christchurch Airport. Whether you are bringing the kids to visit family for the week, on your way to ski fields or just in transit, at the Airways Motel we have a range of Christchurch accommodation to suit your needs and all accompanied with the warmest of welcomes. Our Christchurch motel is located on the North/South Bypass and at the West Coast cross roads,10 minutes from the city centre , 5 minutes from the Airport and is ideally situated for all travellers. With 19 modern motel units to choose from you're guaranteed a comfortable and affordable stay in Christchurch. Our special accommodation feature is a fully self-contained Townhouse with a private garden, spa bath, and full laundry facilities. Ideal for families relocating, long stay guests, larger groups, or for those who prefer extra space and the home away from home feel. When it's time to go home, remember, the Airways Motel is only 5 minutes from Christchurch international/domestic airport and provides a Free Airport Shuttle Service by pre-arrangement (7am-9pm on weekdays and 8am-9am on weekends/Public holidays). PLEASE NOTE: SHUTTLE DOES NOT OPERATE ON CHRISTMAS EVE, CHRISTMAS DAY, BOXING DAY, NEW YEARS EVE AND NEW YEARS DAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airways Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Christchurch
Airways Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing