We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worse language in the world from the Motel Industry”
Review of Airways Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airways Motel
Ranked #17 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2012

After having used the Motel before only 3 weeks before on leaving the country we thought we would stay again. We where happy with the room and the Stay. Then on depature we had a booked the so called 24/7 shuttle serivce for 4 am after waking up early and being ready having seen lights on in the Reception house we rung and asked if we could go out to the airport early. The person who answered the phone rudely obliged to this request saying that we had woken the person up.

And on coming down at four oclock when the shuttle was due to leave went to and check out he started yelling and abusing me and threatening me and using Profanity Language at the top of his voice and told me to go take a cab. So we went out on the shuttle on arrival at the airport and as we went to get his bags out of the airport he pulled out both mine and my partners bags and dropped them on the concrete which broke an expensive bottle of wine no appology as i walked away calming my self down he swore at me again in front of more people.

I will never stay here again and i dont recommend anyone as the place aint worth it.

Room Tip: Just dont stay there as you will be threatened and the people running the place have no idea. How to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank macdady620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airways7, Manager at Airways Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Airways Motel runs a great shuttle service to and from the Christchuch Airport .The service is available 24hours each day for PRE-ARRANGED PICKUPS AND DROPOFFS .
I was away on holiday the morning of your situations but after talking to staff involved along with checking the phone records it seems you had organised a 4am dropoff at the airport when you checked in but decided to change your prearranged time by phoning reception at 3.15am .
The first shuttle dropoffs were organised for 4am so the night before we organise with our staff to start at 4am as there were also others booked on the 4am shuttle and as checkin at the airport does not open until 4am 4am is a perfect time to leave for the 6am flights . You then rung at 3.40am again showing no patience for the shuttle driver or the other guests booked for 4am .If you wanted to leave early why didnt you ask when checking in .We are more than happy to take you if we know prior .
I understand you stacked your own bags in the shuttle which accidently fell out on arrival at the airport ,PLEASE NOTE if you have expensive bottles of wine in your luggage or any other breakable items then it is your responsibility to pack it ready for travel as you could get fined by the airline for the mess that is made on the plane , also it is respect to other travelers luggage .
After hearing via audio recordings and also hearing the abuse you gave our driver at the airport witnessed by other guests we would like to inform you that we will not be taking any further bookings from you in our Motel Chain .

To all guests that booked the 4am shuttle that morning we are very sorry you had to witness this impatient and disrespectful guest .


99.9999% of our guests follow the system and appreciate the early morning system we offer , thank you to all of those guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 449 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

The main problem with this motel apart from the obnoxious staff was the availability of the shuttle bus. My partner and I were made to pay for a taxi from the airport after dropping of the hire car as the rude tatooed lady at reception flat out refused to organise anything until the following day (this was around 12pm). We finally organised a trip the next morning (at a time that suited her, not us or our plans). The motel itself was fine albeit lacking in air conditioning but don't go for this if the shuttle bus is a selling point, you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Organise a taxi if you want to get to the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceebsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airways7, Manager at Airways Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

As noted on all websites ours and third party booking agencies , Our 24hour shuttle is available to all guests but must be PRE-ARRANGED when bookings are made , this way we can plan our day around the motel to ensure all of our guests are well looked after .

It is guests responsibilities to specify an Airport Pickup . If guests have failed to do so then this makes it hard if Staff are in meetings etc etc to stop what they are doing and organise someone to drive to the airport and make a pick up .

99.9999% of our guests read and follow the shuttle reservation instructions .Thank you to all of those guests , we apprciate your buisiness as you appreciate our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This motel was not far from the airport and offered a free pick up and drop off service to the airport which is why we chose to stay here. The staff were friendly and the room was comfortable and clean. We had a well equipped kitchenette and food was available within walking distance. We only stayed the one night in a family room which had a queen and 2 singles. The 2nd bedroom was small but adequate and overall the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rescued1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed here when we arrived in Christchurch considering the late arrival we were picked up within 10 mins and as there was another large group of people waiting to get picked up gareth took us back first as we were traveling with a little one. First night we stayed we had a family room which was cosy for the 5 of us but considering we only spent 5 hours there it was not a problem. We were booked into the same room a few weeks later for 2 more nights but as we decided mid holiday we would prefer a big room or 2 separate rooms we phoned and organised to have the town house which was available for 1 nights and not the other Gareth went out of his way to arrange it so we could have it for both nights. The town house was so spacious and newly refurbished felt like a home away from home it was a great way to end our holiday. Will happily stay there on our return trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyholidays000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I booked the townhouse apartment for one night at the beginning and one night at the end of our tour of NZ. We arrived at 12:30 AM after traveling for over 48 hours and were thrilled to be met (5 minutes wait) with a cheerful and warm welcome. The door to our place was open, he never even asked us to check in. There was a full kitchen in the unit we rented and coffee and milk for the morning. On the return I was happy to have the use of the washer and drier. It is nothing fancy, but for the price, kind service (NZ style) and proximity to the airport you cannot beat this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We booked on line and were picked up promptly by the free shuttle service. A really warm welcome was given to us. The room was great just what we needed. we were in transit from Nelson to queenstown:) The next morning Hope took us to the airport for our flight. When we arrived at the airport (and Hope had left0 we discovered our cell phone was missing. we phoned Hope and she located it in the room. she very kindly arranged to drop it off at the airport and leave it at infomation as we were returning to Christchurch a few days later. Awesome service!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassysalnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Ayla picked us up,she is a real asset and friendly introduction to NZ .proximity and free tranfers are good to airport, the rooms have everything you need..even a complimentary beer! cheers!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
Thank outofbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.9 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,296 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#21 of 146 in Christchurch
246 reviews
5.1 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Motel

Address: Russley Road 3 Dinton Street, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $77 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Early Airport Drop-off starts from 3:45am (conditions apply). When you arrive in a strange city, it's nice to know you've got friends just minutes away. Your hosts at the Airways Motel in Christchurch, pride themselves in offering friendly, personalised service and clean, comfortable, stylish motel accommodation - serviced apartments just 5 minutes from the Christchurch Airport. Whether you are bringing the kids to visit family for the week, on your way to ski fields or just in transit, at the Airways Motel we have a range of Christchurch accommodation to suit your needs and all accompanied with the warmest of welcomes. Our Christchurch motel is located on the North/South Bypass and at the West Coast cross roads,10 minutes from the city centre , 5 minutes from the Airport and is ideally situated for all travellers. With 19 modern motel units to choose from you're guaranteed a comfortable and affordable stay in Christchurch. Our special accommodation feature is a fully self-contained Townhouse with a private garden, spa bath, and full laundry facilities. Ideal for families relocating, long stay guests, larger groups, or for those who prefer extra space and the home away from home feel. When it's time to go home, remember, the Airways Motel is only 5 minutes from Christchurch international/domestic airport and provides a Free Airport Shuttle Service by pre-arrangement (7am-9pm on weekdays and 8am-9am on weekends/Public holidays). PLEASE NOTE: SHUTTLE DOES NOT OPERATE ON CHRISTMAS EVE, CHRISTMAS DAY, BOXING DAY, NEW YEARS EVE AND NEW YEARS DAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airways Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Christchurch
Airways Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing