We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start and finish NZ trip”
Review of Airways Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airways Motel
Ranked #12 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Waikiki
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to start and finish NZ trip”
Reviewed December 30, 2007

The earlier reviews of this property were good so we were pretty confident things would go smoothly. The owners, Rod and Chris bill themselves as the friendly motel and they did not disappoint. Within 10 minutes of placing the free call from the Christchurch airport accommodations board a cheery Chris arrived driving the Airways motel shuttle. 10 minutes later we were settling in to our studio unit, #17.

The room was sparkling clean and came supplied with a toaster, microwave, electric kettle and dishes sufficient to fix a couple of light meals. Each room has an ingenious key holder that turns the power on in the room when the key is inserted. Leave with the key and the power is switched off. You won’t worry about leaving toast burning or your delicates crisping on the towel warmer.

There isn’t much to do in the immediate vicinity (walking distance) but Rod will help you out be recommending things to see and do in Christchurch and even arrange shuttles to the Antarctic center or the local pub.

We planned two nights at the Airways motel. One night on arrival and one at the conclusion of our 2 week campervan tour of the South Island. Rod says 90% of their guests arriving to start a tour of New Zealand come back to stay before departing. Upon our return we were upgraded to room #11, a one bedroom. There were just two of us but it was spacious enough for a family of 4 if you arrange for the fold out cot. The kitchen also had a range top and toaster oven and a dining area.

We were a little concerned about getting out to the airport early on Christmas day but as Rod said “no worries”. At 4:30am on Christmas morning a taxi was waiting to take us and two other guests to the airport for the early flight. Rod had prepaid the fare. We wish Rod and Chris a happy Christmas and promise to be back. No worries!

  • Liked — Location and service made the start and finish of our NZ trip very easy
  • Disliked — Not much in walking distance
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiCondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    165
    41
    8
    12
See reviews for
125
144
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Arrived late and Rod (the Owner) was willing to pick us up at midnight. He showed a no hassles approach and even warms the room up before you get there. The motel is very clean and close to the airport. I would stay there again in a heart beat.. a 10 plus motel..

  • Liked — The Effort the Owner went to
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr1pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

The room was very comfortable and clean. It was only a few minutes to the airport and Rod gladly took us at 5:00am to the airport. He also helped us with phone calls concerning our rental car. Grocery shopping was also very close.

  • Liked — location to airport and airport shuttle
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buoywatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

Stayed for just one night before flying out to Auckland the next morning. We had a 1 bedroom apartment and it was really well designed.

The spa bath was nice and the bed comfy.
The only draw back is busy Russley road..but they cant help that.

Rod took us to the airport on the Friday morning and it was a great place to stay if you need to be near the airport and have a flight before 7am. They are the only ones who do a shuttle before 7 am in Chch from an airport motel.

  • Liked — shuttle before 7am as flight was then!
  • Disliked — on a very busy noisy road..although the bedroom wasnt too bad when door shut..just a muffled noise then
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiorakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

What a wonderful place to stay-the owner(Rod) went out of his way to help us with our rental car, which saved us time and money-Thank you!! The motel was very clean and comfortable-perfect to stay at while waiting to catch plane. They had at shuttle to the airport, which Rod did at 4.00am in the morning for us!! It was close to supermarkets and a Westfield shopping centre that had movie theatres. All in all would stay again with out a problem-service is everything!!!!

  • Liked — staff, close to airport,shops
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Macdac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
2.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
5.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,258 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
713 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Motel

Property: Airways Motel
Address: Cnr Russley Rd & Dinton St, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive in a strange city, it's nice to know you've got friends just minutes away. Your hosts at the Airways Motel in Christchurch, pride themselves in offering friendly, personalised service and clean, comfortable, stylish motel accommodation - serviced apartments just 5 minutes from the Christchurch Airport. Whether you are bringing the kids to visit family for the week, on your way to ski fields or just in transit, at the Airways Motel we have a range of Christchurch accommodation to suit your needs and all accompanied with the warmest of welcomes. Our Christchurch motel is located on the North/South Bypass and at the West Coast cross roads,10 minutes from the city centre , 5 minutes from the Airport and is ideally situated for all travellers. With 19 modern motel units to choose from you're guaranteed a comfortable and affordable stay in Christchurch. Our special accommodation feature is a fully self-contained Townhouse with a private garden, spa bath, and full laundry facilities. Ideal for families relocating, long stay guests, larger groups, or for those who prefer extra space and the home away from home feel. When it's time to go home, remember, the Airways Motel is only 5 minutes from Christchurch international/domestic airport and provides a Free Airport Shuttle Service by pre-arrangement (8am-8pm on the hour). PLEASE NOTE: SHUTTLE DOES NOT OPERATE ON CHRISTMAS EVE, CHRISTMAS DAY, BOXING DAY, NEW YEARS EVE AND NEW YEARS DAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Airways Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Christchurch
Airways Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing