We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only classic, but also classy”
Review of The Classic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Classic Villa
Ranked #27 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Classic Villa offers everything that is good about the 'boutique hotel' concept. It's small enough to offer real personal touches, in terms of service. Peter looked after us so well, making coffee to suit our respective tastes, offering advice for dining locally, and generally keeping things on a very even keel. Christchurch has been through so much over the past three years, it's reassuring to find positivity and good humour in spades! I was unwell one night of our stay, and Peter showed real concern. The hotel offers free wifi, and lots of lovely hot water, tasteful toiletries, a comfortable bed, and good storage space. The location of The Classic Villa couldn't be better, it's a short stroll to Cathedral Square. Thanks Peter, from us both.

Room Tip: We had Room 10. The only problem is that it is directly above the doorway, so we not only heard the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for The Classic Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 252 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was the 12th hotel we have stayed in on our visit ' down under ' .All the rest have been in corporate hotels so this was just a really pleasant surprise. Excellent welcome, and although we only stayed here less than 24 hours it is an establishment I would have been happy to have spent 2 days plus in.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kennynono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place seems to usually be referred to as a boutique hotel. Whilst that is fair, it could just as well be classified as a first rate B&B.
My wife and I stayed there recently for two nights. We were highly impressed. Indeed we cannot even think of any minor criticism to make!
Our room was advertised. as a Luxury Room. It justified that description.
, very comfortable and relaxing, and having the benefit of tasteful decor and furnishings.
The breakfast room was spacious and clearly a lot of thought had been given to the preparation and display of the ingrediants of the meal in order to make it memorable. . Excellent!

The two people managing this little hotel were interesting to talk with and gave us helpful advice about Christchurch and the local restaurants.

The price was fairly high by New Zealand standards..However, in our view it was fully justified.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This property is a very nice oasis in the middle of a city that is rebuilding post earthquake. In a city where so many have experienced disaster, this villa stands tall a step above with wonderful accommodations but even better than the very comfortable setting is the staff. Ana, the bubbly Polish associate, greeted us with a wonderful optimism, excitement and energy. She checked us in and insured that we were totally comfortable. It was made obvious from the start that the common area was ours to use and not an invasion on the owner's space which made us feel very much at ease. The night Manager was as engaging and provided us with great conversation and set the tone for a wonderful experience. The breakfast was a huge highlight here in a most comfortable open space that did not intimidate. The breakfast and conversations with other travelers was a special experience in our 4 week trip! The rooms were warm, charming and comfortable with a sense of the villa's history throughout. Thankful for the Classic Villa for a wonderful experience while we keep the people of Christchurch in our hearts. So glad we were there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel is a beautiful old Victorian House (with a more modern additional upstairs). We really enjoyed our stay here – what really put it over the top was the manager – Noni. She was lovely to chat with – it felt like you were staying with your mom and she was on your side as she told you about the dining options, transportation options, sights, breakfast etc. This is more of a B&B as opposed to a standard hotel – we loved it.

The location is wonderful – you can walk to downtown Christchurch, restaurants, pubs etc.
We stayed upstairs in one of the modern rooms, it was spacious and well appointed, though not as elegant or fancy as the older rooms downstairs. We had the choice and ended up choosing the upstairs room as it was nice and bright because it had more natural light.

There is a large communal breakfast room downstairs, as well as a large reading and TV room. It has a good sized library of books you can read or even take with you.

Breakfast had a good variety, though we had one minor quibble – the pastries seemed stale.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed a night with our baby. Peter was accommodating to set up a baby cot for us. We enjoyed the place so much that we spent quite a fair bit of the late afternoon till night in there. Breakfast was more than continental so it was a pleasant one.
A little gripe would be the slow wifi, but we didn't had to pay.
Would return back for sure!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Plus the best breakfast I have ever had in 26 countries worth of travel. Just a lovely place to stay and so close to the best bar I have also been to in a few countries... the Astro Bar. Nice to revisit Christchurch after living there many years ago and be so close to the devastation but get to stay in such a lovely place. Thanks to Noni and the staff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSMfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Classic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Villa

Address: 17 Worcester Blvd | Christchurch Arts Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $133 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Classic Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Classic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Classic Villa Hotel Christchurch
The Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing