We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend his hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ranked #41 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed with a 9 month old for 3 nights in a studio apartment and the best thing about this motel was the hosts, Sue and Steve. Nothing was too much trouble, and Steve provided us with plenty of information on things to do and see around Christchurch. The location is good - very close to parks as well as several restaurants on Riccarton Rd within 1km (although the apartments have a kitchen if you want to eat in). Its a nice quiet motel, that is well looked after and we would definitely stay again in future.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 265 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2010

Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Motel is set in a beautiful lush garden on a quite side treet.
Our apartment was recently refurbished with good quality comfortable furniture. Kitchen was spotless and extremely well set up- even a roll of paper towel.
In a great location walking distance to Christchurch through Hagley Park. Also very close to Riccarton Mall- very large shopping centre- 5-10 minute walk through beautiful suburban streets.
This was the best motel we stayed in during our 25 days touring the south island- everything had been thought of and position was perfect ( no road noise). Many motels around us were on busy Riccarton road in cramped positions. Hosts are constantly maintaining this property and are gradually refurbishing the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNMWantirna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Thank you Sue and Steve for a lovely welcome to your lovely city Christchurch. Thanks for your hospitality which we very much appreciated. Your motel was so clean and inviting , we had a great stay with you and Steve thanks for the hedgehog hunt and we hope there are many hedgehog hunts to come for your intended guests. Anyone intending to stay at Ashleigh Court I know that Sue and Steve will make you very welcome as they are wonderful people
Thanks again
Barbara & Kevin Love Bullsbrook Western Australia

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraBullsbrookWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The hosts Sue & Steve made our stay very enjoyable and comfortable,where always obliging,always giving us information on places to go and also what restuarants to eat at which where close by.Our room was very comfortable the first 3 days of our holiday we stayed in a 1 bedroom and the last 3 days of our holiday stayed in a studio room and they where both excellant.The location was great as you really dont need a car as you can walk to anything.We just liked everything about the accomodation,nice and quiet and peaceful.Even the hedgehogs in the garden where quiet. trish & rob Bendigo Australia

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night in Jan 2010. We were greeted with genuine smiles from Sue and immediately felt welcomed. It was an excellent introduction for our first visit to NZ and even after staying in 12 different motels during our trip, we have to say that our stay at Ashleigh brings back good memories. Both Sue and Steve were extremely helpful in pointing out the negatives and positives of Christchurch and offered sound advice on restaurants and travelling routes.

The room itself was spacious, comfortable, clean and the area was quiet and peaceful.

The location is the least desirable feature as it is a good 20 minute walk from the city centre or a $15 cab fare. If you have a car or do not mind this trek through the park, then you will have no problems at this motel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stroalki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

My family spent 3 nights in Christchurch (Asleight Court) out of 2 weeks in South Island. We felt comfortable with prompt service and hospitality from the hosts (didnot see Sue much). The motel room is clean, and in handy and peaceful location at most reasonable rate compared with other motels we have been thru in South Island. I'll stay there again. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneybantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Clean and quiet motel in a nice part of town. We found it a great base for exploring Christchurch and surrounds. Our two boys couldn't keep away from the trampoline tucked around the back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjpSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#45 of 146 in Christchurch
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#80 of 146 in Christchurch
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Address: 47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $86 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful sunny motel in a ‘quiet central location’ set in established gardens just 5-minutes walk to Mona Vale Gardens, Riccarton House (Deans Bush) and Hagley Park and 10-12 minutes walk to Restaurants and Westfield Mall (Christchurch’s best shopping centre). Enjoy a walk through Hagley Park to the Arts Centre, Christchurch Tramway, Museum, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery or the Casino. We are a 5-minute drive to Christchurch Hospital, University of Canterbury and the CBS Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Court Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Ashleigh Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing