We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for Money in Christchurch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ranked #37 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2008

I stayed at this motel for 2 nights.

Almost all units are on the ground floor and you can park your car if you drive right in front of the unit. The motel is also close to a number of good eating places, the park and the largest shopping mall in Christchurch. The railway station is also nearby and the owner of the motel can arrange free transport for you to the station. This is good if you decide to take the Tranz Alpine railway trip to the West Coast which you actually should do even though it is a bit pricey.

The rooms are clean and are of normal motel size. One bugbear of the rooms would probably be that they do not block outside noise very well. If you are a light sleeper then that might be a slight problem.

What stands out at the Ashleigh would probably be the owner, Steve who is warm, friendly, extremely helpful and tries his level best to make your stay the most enjoyable experience you can ever have.

Overall I would definately recommend Ashleigh Court Motel to Christchurch visitors as it is probably the best value for money accommodation you can find in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 265 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2008

We ended our three week trip of a lifetime around New Zealand in Christchurch, with an early morning flight out. It was essential that we had a Motel with easy access to the airport.
Asleigh Court was just that, but also easy access to the city, and local retaurants.
The motel is very clean, spacious, superb showers, and sufficient kitchen area to prepare food etc. The hosts, Sue and Steve do everything to make your stay welcome, and provide lots of info on what to do, and seem to have vouchers for almost everything.
We are only too pleased to write a very favourable review for this delightful motel. Yes we would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thetravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

The motel had an attractive retro feel, and was set in beautiful gardens.
The photos on the wall were of New Zealand, which was the first time I have come across this in a motel.
The hosts were friendly, sensitive and non-judgemental.
I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hiseros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed at Ashleigh Court for three days at the start of a two week car trip around the South Island NZ and the last night before flying home in Nov 2008. It's a motel built when it was recognised that you need a certain amount of room to be comfortable. Spacious bathroom, a table to eat on, a useful kitchen plus all the more usual features. What made the stay even better was the welcome from excellent hosts Steve and Sue and directions to places to visit. The motel is in Riccarton near to Mona Vale and Deans Bush (two great things to see) and a pleasant walk through Hagley Park (botanical gardens) gets you to Christchurch 's city centre. Thought had been put into just what travellers need to make things easier for them. Well maintained, clean and easy to live in, after two weeks at various motels/hotels it became obvious just what excellent value Ashleigh Court is.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Evie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Spent a very nice few days at Ashleigh Court in Nov 08. Nice clean facilities, very nice surroundings and great hosts. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank racingguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Very quiet and peaceful. Beautiful gardens. 400 metres walk to the lovely Mona Vale gardens and homestead. Another 500 metres and you are in Hagley Park. Also within walking distance of the Riccarton Mall and large open school fields for kids to play in. Clean and faultless rooms. Very affordable. Our room had a comfortable king-sized bed and we heard no road noise at all. The owners were lovely. We usually stay in more expensive and flash places but The Ashleigh Court Motel has our highest recommendation and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Bugdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in Christchurch staying at this Motel. Although a little "dated" we couldnt fault either the amenities or the service. We stayed in a two bedroom unit which was serviced daily. All amenities including a washing machine were provided. The service provided by the owners/managers Steve and Sue was exceptional. From Tourist Information, local knowledge and just a general "hello" and chat whenever we crossed paths to the very special treatment we were provided on the day we attended the NZ Cup day. Steve, knowing parking would be an issue, offered to drive us out there, drop off, then he drove our vehicle back to the Motel. That kind of service is very rare today.
We would definately stay there on return trips. Very close to City, short walk through Botanical Gardens has you in the centre of town. Very quite position with absolutely no road noise. Beautiful gardens surrounding the units.
We would recommend this accommodation to anyone who would prefer a self contained holiday unit, even with families.
Congratulations to Sue and Steve for making our holiday just that little bit better for having stayed at their establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieMarzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#42 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
3.2 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#45 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#80 of 146 in Christchurch
69 reviews
1.3 mi away
Addington City Motel
Addington City Motel
#53 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Address: 47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $82 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful sunny motel in a ‘quiet central location’ set in established gardens just 5-minutes walk to Mona Vale Gardens, Riccarton House (Deans Bush) and Hagley Park and 10-12 minutes walk to Restaurants and Westfield Mall (Christchurch’s best shopping centre). Enjoy a walk through Hagley Park to the Arts Centre, Christchurch Tramway, Museum, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery or the Casino. We are a 5-minute drive to Christchurch Hospital, University of Canterbury and the CBS Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Court Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Ashleigh Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing