We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EQC refugees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ranked #36 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Like many Christchurch residents, we had an enforced "holiday" in Chch as EQC refugees while our hose was repaired. Greg & Frances sorted us out with a 4Br apartment they were managing and dealt with the grief of dealing with our insurance company :) The apartment was well serviced and minor maintenance issues over the 6 weeks we stayed were dealt with efficiently and in a friendly manner.

The ultimate recommendation is that, we need a further 2 nights to sort out ongoing EQC issues and we have booked again, but this time at a family unit on site.

Steven & Valda

Room Tip: We stayed in a managed apartment so can't comment on pool or kids activities other than to say m...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Ashleigh Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently. Chosen for its good price, great location. Found it to be comfortable, quiet and well-maintained. Had all we needed. Appreciated the updated bathroom amenities and the comfy bed. Helpful hosts recommended DuxDine restaurant nearby and it was wonderful. Also enjoyed the Riccarton racecourse market on Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 909Gillian_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

As former Christchurch residents we were looking for somewhere reasonably central but off a main road to stay with family who had come from the uk for our daughter's wedding, to see Christchurch before flying home again. Ashleigh Court was a pick off the internet because it could offer the two family units we wanted. We were very pleased with what we found. The location, walking daistance to Riccarton mall, Hagley park, Riccarton House and Bush but a couple of blocks off the busy Riccarton road was ideal. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and all we wanted or needed for our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleighCourtManager, Owner at Ashleigh Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We would love to see you back and we are delighted to hear the stay at Ashleigh Court was quiet and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I am a New Zealander living overseas with family and friends in Canterbury. I always stay at the Ashleigh and don't bother to look for anywhere else. I love Kiwi motels, being able to cook, use a washing machine and clothes line, somewhere to park etc and Frances and Greg are wonderful hosts. The location is perfect and always quiet but close to everything I need.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwibird54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been regular clients for many years and through ownership changes, the service remains top notch. On this trip we mucked up our booking and even though full, Frances and Greg conjured up a nearby townhouse to rent at a moment's notice, saving us from having to cancel a much anticipated family reunion. It was a huge relief and we are enormously grateful. The motel itself is a low key property in a quiet Riccarton backwater, a perfect spot to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeyJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleighCourtManager, Owner at Ashleigh Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Fantastic Christine to have you return again, all the way from Norway !
We are delighted you enjoy your stay here and thank you kindly for your thoughts on trip advisor.
You will be pleased to know all the tiling work to the terraces has been completed and thanks for your patience with this.
Thanks once again for the comments and look forward to seeing you again.
Greg & Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Convenient for the station if you arrive by train and plenty of restaurants nearby. The room was adequate but not great and a bit of a struggle with our heavy cases. Service at reception was good although the lady I assume to be the owner wasn't quite as helpful. We walked to the centre through the lovely park...quite a walk, and it's clear that Christchurch will be a long time recovering from the devastation so perhaps a little latitude in scoring the hotel is required.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SxD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a nice place with plent y of space and fabulously clean! Second best of all quiet too but in close walking distance to Ricarrton Road. best of all helpful, friendly staff.

NOTE I was only there overnight so no comments about the restaurant

Julia

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleighCourtManager, General Manager at Ashleigh Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hello Julia

Thank you for your kind thoughts and comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took time to post a message on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to having you stay when you are next in Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#42 of 146 in Christchurch
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#38 of 146 in Christchurch
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Address: 47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $87 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful sunny motel in a ‘quiet central location’ set in established gardens just 5-minutes walk to Mona Vale Gardens, Riccarton House (Deans Bush) and Hagley Park and 10-12 minutes walk to Restaurants and Westfield Mall (Christchurch’s best shopping centre). Enjoy a walk through Hagley Park to the Arts Centre, Christchurch Tramway, Museum, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery or the Casino. We are a 5-minute drive to Christchurch Hospital, University of Canterbury and the CBS Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Court Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Ashleigh Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing