We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but aversge in most respects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ranked #32 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ok but aversge in most respects”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Convenient for the station if you arrive by train and plenty of restaurants nearby. The room was adequate but not great and a bit of a struggle with our heavy cases. Service at reception was good although the lady I assume to be the owner wasn't quite as helpful. We walked to the centre through the lovely park...quite a walk, and it's clear that Christchurch will be a long time recovering from the devastation so perhaps a little latitude in scoring the hotel is required.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SxD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    91
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
107
100
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a nice place with plent y of space and fabulously clean! Second best of all quiet too but in close walking distance to Ricarrton Road. best of all helpful, friendly staff.

NOTE I was only there overnight so no comments about the restaurant

Julia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleighCourtManager, General Manager at Ashleigh Court Motel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello Julia

Thank you for your kind thoughts and comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took time to post a message on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to having you stay when you are next in Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The motel is clean and well equipped, just what we needed. It is spacious for 5 of us, and is located in a quiet garden like setting with a swing, which is welcomed by our kids.
Furnishings may appear a little dated but it's fine for us, especially for a quick 1 night stopover. Due to jet lag, we did not manage to venture much in the area except the nearby shopping mall which was a good place to shop and was the only major mall we saw in our entire SI trip!
Though we appreciate the owners' advice not to take long showers as the the hot water may run out (for him just 1 minute will do) - we freaked out and did not dare to let our body unwind after the long flight and cold weather and took very quick shower instead. Would have been great to have a good soak! Hospitality was just okay, not quite what we expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smNg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Frances and Greg are very good hosts, helpful and friendly. Great location, close to city but quiet and leafy. Very well-equipped and comfortable unit. If staying Friday night, go to the Dean's Bush market on Saturday morning - one of the best food markets we've ever visited, and excellent coffee too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EKerr019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Ashleigh Court on January 28,29th of 2012.
After travelling over 24 hours from Toronto, we appreciated that the owners welcomed us gratiously and had our room ready when we arrived in the early morning.
They were wonderful with directions to the nearest mall, restaurants, etc. on Riccarton Road.
Very quiet, which we needed in order to rest up for our 3 weeks in NZ.

Would highly recommend this quiet, but unassuming motel for a few days before or after travelling the country.

Room Tip: We had the studio room by the check-in area, but it was very quiet for a weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for a week while on working trip. On my own and studio room suited the bill. Enjoyed its quiet location - just go and stand outside one of the bigger motels on Riccarton Road and you will appreciate the quiet setting of Ashleigh Court! Only a few minutes walk to Hagley park and parks beside the Avon R. Good for an evening stroll. Plenty of eateries a couple of blocks away so no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Ashleigh Court during our enforced time away from home due to earthquake repairs. Despite the fact that Ashleigh Court is somewhat dated in its decor, it compensates for this in its spaciousness, the comfort of its filttings, (beds, couches etc) its superb cleanliness and its fantastic environment. These motels are situated in a park like setting with beautiful gardens, park benches, and the location is extremely quiet. I cannot think of a more pleasant place for a stay in Christchurch than Ashleigh Court.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.2 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#43 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#19 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#20 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Property: Ashleigh Court Motel
Address: 47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful sunny motel in a ‘quiet central location’ set in established gardens just 5-minutes walk to Mona Vale Gardens, Riccarton House (Deans Bush) and Hagley Park and 10-12 minutes walk to Restaurants and Westfield Mall (Christchurch’s best shopping centre). Enjoy a walk through Hagley Park to the Arts Centre, Christchurch Tramway, Museum, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery or the Casino. We are a 5-minute drive to Christchurch Hospital, University of Canterbury and the CBS Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Court Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Ashleigh Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing