We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place.”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

What a pleasant surprise. We stayed in a superior spa studio which was more than adequate for two people. Everything was spotless and well maintained, and Karen & Wayne couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Wish we had longer than our two nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 684 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

I can't recommend this motel highly enough especially the rooms in the manor itself. Our top floor room was adjacent to the balcony and was very well appointed with excellent facilities. The shower is amazing and one of the best we have encountered on our extensive tour of New Zealand.
Wayne the owner is extremely helpful and goes out of his way to make recommendations and gave us a very scenic route to follow for our next stop.
He also booked our shuttle to the Tranzalpine Express. There are books and magazines to read and a very moving pictorial account of the recent earthquake. I would definitely return to this little haven in the future. Thank you very much Wayne.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed for one night here - shame it wasn't more. The manor itself is a 120-year-old building, so is part of the local history. The room was very well appointed and spacious, with big bed, 2 armchairs, table & chairs for meals and a great little kitchenette. In the bathroom, the double shower was a real treat. All very nicely furnished and in a quiet location just outside the city centre. Very friendly and helpful owner too.

Room Tip: We were in room 218 in the manor house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at an upstairs manor room and 2 nights in a studio spa in front of the main manor. The rooms were well kept and the owners were very friendly and hospitable. Showed us around the property and took great pains to introduce us to the useful stuff. Overall a great stay. Try the manor room!

If bored at night, head out to the northlands mall just 5 minutes drive north of papanui road. Extended hours on Thursday and Friday! 2 huge supermarkets there for all your grocery needs!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wai005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in the front rooms which were clean and well appointed. A simple breakfast was available and much appreciated. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. There was confusion over the payment (my fault!) but the hosts managed the process really well and it was all sorted with a minimum of fuss or drama.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a little less privacy than the house rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZtourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at Merivale Manor for one night at the very beginning of our 2 week trip. It was a great base for a long walk (or short drive!) into the CBD and downtown, and was close to plenty of restaurants for dinner. The owner was friendly and took the time to show us a map and recommend a number of sights and restaurants for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The managers were very welcoming and friendly, and made us feel right at home.
They were also very helpful with ideas of things to do.
We stayed in one of the front single-rooms, which was in excellent shape and well appointed.
The bed was very comfortable.
The location is conveniently located to the village of Merivale, and Hagley park

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigredjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,063 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,423 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.3 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $131 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing