We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A beautiful old building in a convenient location to both Christchurch (30 m walk) and shops at Merivale mall ( 5 min walk). Complimentary breakfast, wi fi and laundry plus friendly helpful,owners in a spotless premises made this a faultless stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank aussieas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 662 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

This motel is in a wonderfully charming colonial building with a lot of character. We were on the top floor, the room was clean and well decorated and had everything we needed, and had a lovely bathroom.
Breakfast cereals, milk and bread for toast were provided in the room, which was a really nice touch.
The owner was very friendly and helpful.
It was a shame we weren't staying for more than one night, as this was a fantastic, comfortable motel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Framps69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really enjoyed our one night here. The hosts are charming and very welcoming. The room in the manor was lovely. Complementary continental breakfast a bonus as was the free wifi and laundry. An awesome place to stay after 2 weeks on the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutandAboutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After spending two weeks on the road with my family in a campervan, we were very happy to arrive at Merivale Manor and be welcomed by the friendly hosts, Michael & Samantha. We stayed in two spa studio rooms which were on one side of the main house and we found them to be comfortable and clean with a modern kitchen. When we asked about parking for our campervan overnight, Michael did not hesitate to offer to move his car from a spot in the back corner where there would be space for the van and he also moved it again in the morning to make way for us to make a three point turn to go back out of the car park. We really appreciate his efforts for making us feel welcome and would recommend this motel to anyone in the future. With restaurants and shops just up the road, it is a great spot to base yourself for some sightseeing in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazzy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Comfortable,clean and well maintained property.the amenities were of a high standard for the price we paid.very happy will certainly recommend.the breakfast was a highlight.free wi-fi was a great bonus,saved us a trip to the Internet cafe.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were looking for a one bedroom unit in a Qualmark 4 star rated hotel for 2 nights. Reviews of this property made us want to give it a try. We were not disappointed.

Our unit was in the main manor building and it was done up very tastefully, resembling more an apartment than a motel unit. And then there were the little things that stood out- complimentary breakfast cereals and bread, for instance and complimentary unlimited internet. Add to that, it's in walking distance from a supermarket and a host of eating options.

The only thing that we couldn't relate to was the access to the bathroom being through the bedroom, given that the unit is meant to sleep 3 adults and the sitting area also had a pull-out bed. Obviously, this would not have been an issue, had there been 2 of us staying in a studio unit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank OptimistExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a lovely place to stay. My husband, mother in law and myself stayed here for our last night in New Zealand and it was, by far, the loveliest place we had stayed in over the 10 days we were there. Our host was wonderfully helpful, explaining everything that was available to us as well as helping my husband bring our luggage up the stairs. We stayed in the manor house that has a beautiful old world charm, and I would highly recommend that if anyone was contemplating staying here to consider asking for a room in the main house. The actual accommodation itself was unique from anything I had ever stayed in and I can honestly say that I was extremely glad I did. With such a wonderful and helpful host, an extremely clean and well thought out room design that catered to all our needs and a comfortable charm (as well as the free WI FI, yay!) this manor has it all. Thanks to the hosts for making our last night in NZ so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
683 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,389 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.5 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $134 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing