We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place; nice, modern room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place; nice, modern room”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only overnight at the Merivale Manor and it was very pleasant. The room had all expected comforts like a small kitchenette, comfy bed, nice and new bathroom and a small table. The whole complex is lovely and well maintained. Would definitely stay again - in fact we booked in for the night of our departure as well :-)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aggi_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    131
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
133
311
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a Manor Suite in the big house at the rear of the property. The room was large with two big windows and attractive views. There was a very useful and well set up kitchenette, a spacious and luxuriorius bathroom and a most comfortable bed. The room was beautifully decorated in the Victorian style of the old home. The welcome and assistance by the owners/managers was top knotch even helping us up the stairs with our bags. The location is excellent with a number of restaurants and cafes within a short walk and close proximity to the city and airport. Good off road parking. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are probably quieter. We certainly had no difficulty with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I'm regularly travelling around New Zealand, and often find myself in a variety of hotels, motels and B&B's. You soon figure out the winners from the losers, and Merivale Manor is a winner. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and warm. They do all the 'regular' things right (comfortable bed, clean, good service) but go above and beyond on the small, often over looked things, for example: Free laundry service, toast and milk upon arrival for breakfast the following day, and allowing me to use their office scanner multiple times without charge.

This is now my preferred accommodation in Christchurch. Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonarmishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our last day of a three-week self-drive around South Island (at the beginning of our three weeks for three days in Christchurch, we had wanted to stay at Merivale Manor, but it was fully booked. So when we returned to Christchurch to fly out the next day, we were glad to have a chance to stay here.) We stayed in the main, original house in a very spacious and clean room on the ground floor - a bit of the "old world" with high ceilings and large door and windows, but with modern amenities. We made use of the handy self-serve laundry. A good choice of restaurants was just a five-minute walk down the street. And the airport was an easy 15-minute drive away. We would not hesitate to recommend Merivale Manor!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poguelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in the Merivale Manor earlier this week while in Christchurch for business and from the moment I arrived was made to feel very welcome.

I was shown to my unit (not just given a key and a bottle of milk), shown my breakfast options and then all functions within the room were explained to me so that I knew how to operate them, namely the TV controls, heat pump and the spa bath (if I wanted to use it).

The location is ideal with a selection of restaurants nearby as well as the local Merivale shopping area.

All in all a very welcoming place to stay and will be revisiting again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights here, and it was very warm and comfortable. Pleasant helpful owners on site. A great location for eateries just up the street, and not far to the city. Good kitchen/breakfast set-up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as a stopover on route to Greymouth, so didn't have much time to explore Christchurch sadly. Our room was in the main building, which was a beautiful colonial building with bags of charm. The room was spacious, with a comfortable bed, good self catering facilities and good shower. The only slight niggle would be that the room itself was a little on the dark side, with regards natural daylight not flooding through the window. Our only regret was that we didn't stay here longer. Would definitely recommend the Merivale for a comfortable and charming place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,664 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Property: Merivale Manor
Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing