We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and History”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location and History”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

New Zealand is our favorite destination. So Christchurch is our landing and departing point for our journey. We have tried out different hotel/motel each time. Merivale Manor is among those @ good location. For a family of three, it offered a pleasant accommodation. We stayed for 2 nights. First on the day we arrived, and second on the night before we departed. We got different rooms. One on the first floor has a bigger bathroom. It seems each room has a different lay out! That is something worth checking before you settle in. We would say this place stands out from many hotels on the streets of CHC. It has history! A place where you can have a very good night sleep from a long journey. A place with style and class for a reasonable price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kassoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    132
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
136
322
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chipley, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights (mar 21) and it was very comfortable . The host were very friendly and helped us with shuttle service to airport and trans nz station. The grocery store was just down the street and downtown was a nice walk for those who like walking. We had a studio manor room and it was very adequate. The bed was comfortable and the pillows. We would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a convenient and comfortable stay.
Linda and Alan
Florida

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WolfBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hey folks spent a couple of nights in this beautiful property at christchuch with my wife on our month long vacation in new Zealand.First the facts - This is not an out n out hotel property ,it's actually a private property now partly used as a hotel( a few rooms i guess).The hosts are pretty cool people too though we didn't interact with them much.We had requested for a quiet room preferably on the top floor with a nice view.They obliged us with that except for the view factor coz don.t expect too much of a view thing on papanui road at christchurch.Christchurch as a place is worth a visit a very beautiful North hagley park and for that matter even south Hagley park awaits to rejuvenate you.Both these parks are truly "refereshing " and a 15 mins walk from "Merivale Manor".That brings me back to "Manor"- this is a charming place to stay on full moon night - that's my observation and i hope the ownner's find a cue here to promote this feature in their future offers & promotions.The exterior of the property is "pristine white" in color and the full moonlight completely bathes it.That was romance "personified " for us as we just sat out on the balcony at late nights.Otherwise rooms are just about ok and nothing great in terms of service and breakfast.
Stay here "only" to break the monotony of fast "citylife" - just for one night (on a full moon) - to feel the "old world charm"

Room Tip: top floor - for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish-baid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights recently, very neat property with friendly hosts and good wifi. Stayed in one of the front spa units. Hotel is situated on a main road but traffic noise was not an issue for us didnt notice it after peak hour. Good selection of restaurants nearby and only short walking distance. Would stay again.

Room Tip: For value take a spa room, for something special stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked the 2-bedroom apartment, and were thrilled to see that we had the bottom floor of the main house, including a spacious living room area with kitchen. The owner was so helpful with dining suggestions, arranging taxi service, and making other suggestoins. We also were able to do a much-needed load of landry (free!). And the WiFi was awesome: this was the only place we stayed in New Zealand where the WiFi was included in our stay, was easy to access, and was uninterrupted. The location is also good for an easy walk to restaurants in the Merivale area, as well as the grocery store; be aware that much of the CBD is vacant from earthquake demolition, so knowing what I know now, I am glad we chose Merivale Manor as our base in Christchurch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionInFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel/motel was one of our favorites of the ones we stayed at on an 11 day journey that took us to four cities in New Zealand and Australia. It is very well located, great food within walking distance. The walk to the center of town was very close and the room accomodations were perfectly appointed. The hosts were extremely informative and helped us determine where to visit in the one day and two nights that we had there. Christchurch is a beautiful place and wished we could have had two or three more days. The one thing is that if you want mainstream television programming, it isn't available here. Only the "free" NZ channels and a couple of cable channels. But that isn't the reason you go here so not a big negative. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Centrally located within short drive into Christchurch city. Very friendly staff. Rooms clean and well appointed. Best accommodation so far on 2 week trip. Have re-booked for our final night before flying home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Liked the aspect of a single story building in an earthquake zone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.2 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Property: Merivale Manor
Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing