We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodation”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice accomodation”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights recently, very neat property with friendly hosts and good wifi. Stayed in one of the front spa units. Hotel is situated on a main road but traffic noise was not an issue for us didnt notice it after peak hour. Good selection of restaurants nearby and only short walking distance. Would stay again.

Room Tip: For value take a spa room, for something special stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    132
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
136
322
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked the 2-bedroom apartment, and were thrilled to see that we had the bottom floor of the main house, including a spacious living room area with kitchen. The owner was so helpful with dining suggestions, arranging taxi service, and making other suggestoins. We also were able to do a much-needed load of landry (free!). And the WiFi was awesome: this was the only place we stayed in New Zealand where the WiFi was included in our stay, was easy to access, and was uninterrupted. The location is also good for an easy walk to restaurants in the Merivale area, as well as the grocery store; be aware that much of the CBD is vacant from earthquake demolition, so knowing what I know now, I am glad we chose Merivale Manor as our base in Christchurch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionInFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel/motel was one of our favorites of the ones we stayed at on an 11 day journey that took us to four cities in New Zealand and Australia. It is very well located, great food within walking distance. The walk to the center of town was very close and the room accomodations were perfectly appointed. The hosts were extremely informative and helped us determine where to visit in the one day and two nights that we had there. Christchurch is a beautiful place and wished we could have had two or three more days. The one thing is that if you want mainstream television programming, it isn't available here. Only the "free" NZ channels and a couple of cable channels. But that isn't the reason you go here so not a big negative. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Centrally located within short drive into Christchurch city. Very friendly staff. Rooms clean and well appointed. Best accommodation so far on 2 week trip. Have re-booked for our final night before flying home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Liked the aspect of a single story building in an earthquake zone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here 3 separate times during our 11 day trip through the south island. Each of the three times we were in a different room, each room a little different in layout and style, but all very comfortable! All three rooms were nicely sized, with a nice sized kitchenette and modern bathroom. Each kitchen had a microwave, small stove and fridge. The hotel is located just a short 10 minute drive to the unique and fun downtown area that is rebuilding after the earthquakes (definintely worth a stop!) and within a 5 minute walk of shops and restaurants in the Merivale neighborhood.

The proprietors were very helpful and friendly. They assisted us with suggestions on what to see in Christchurch and were we should eat. They helped us with our laundry and filled us in on the history of this unique town. We asked for a lot over our 3 stays, and they were always right there to help!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This proved an excellent choice for our 1 night stay before our flights back to the UK. We stayed in the main building, which is very well-maintained although there is still some evidence of surface damage following the earthquake. The room was spotlessly clean and well-equipped; the en-suite was particularly good as there were two sinks. Our hosts were very helpful in suggesting where to eat and how to maximise our time in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this property in the manor home for two nights on our quick tour of New Zealand. It was our favorite accomodations on our entire trip. (5 places in total) Upon arrival we were met at the front office by the owner who was very helpful and provided a map, suggestions for restaurants and directions for where we wanted to go the next day. He carried our large and heavy luggage upstairs to our room and then pointed everything out. The room was very spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable and the shower was huge! In fact, this was the largest bathroom we came across while traveling NZ. Our only gripe was there was no table or other surface to put things down in the bath. There were shallow shelves in the wall but they wouldn't fit our toiletry bags. But really, this was our only issue and was really a minor inconvenience.
The free WiFi worked very well and we never had any issues loading pages or even doing iChat. The free breakfast food was a nice touch. We had coffee and toast both mornings.
We also took advantage of the laundry which was very clean. They even provided detergent. You can tell they take great pains to ensure the entire motel is very clean at all times.
The house was really not hurt much in both quakes. With the exception of one crack in the wall on the stairs you really couldn't see any damage. The owner pointed out where the sconces on the chandelier in the bedroom had hit the ceiling from swaying back and forth but I never would have noticed if he hadn't shown us. Goes to show how good building can last forever.
This really is an excellent location for visiting Christchurch. Its in a fun area of town with lots of restaurants and a nice grocery just down the street. Getting into downtown proper and the botanic gardens/musuem was a 10-15 minute walk. I don't think I'd want to stay any closer after seeing all the damage.
Speaking of the damage. We were concerned when we heard the area was still experiencing after shocks two years later but we had no issues during our stay. Christchurch really does need tourists to return and help with the economy. This motel is an excellent example that not everything was damaged! I would definitely stay here again and hope I have an opportunity to do so someday.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and there is no elevator so if you have some sort of mobility handicap y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workinforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,735 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.2 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Property: Merivale Manor
Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing