We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived after a long 24hrs of travel from the states…it took a little while for the 6 of us to check it, as there was only one woman working the desk and she was handling a customer on the phone, but once she helped us, we were checked it with tomorrow's breakfast in hand and settling into our rooms.

We stayed in the main house, which was superb. There is no elevator, so expect to lug your luggage up the stairs. Although cute and quaint on the outside, the rooms are updated and modern, with nice bathrooms and kitchenettes for cooking.

Breakfast consists of milk, cereal, bread, and condiments (butter, jam, etc). It was plenty to eat for us!

I recommend staying in the main house if possible. The rooms down near the road have one large window that faces the entry and parking area which don't offer much privacy unless you keep your blinds drawn. Otherwise, everyone can see you laying in bed!

I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    132
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
136
322
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is a superb historic mansion/villa in a great area of Christchurch. Providing you stay in the main house and not the prefabricated motel style rooms, the rooms are big with a seperate living area that has a kitchenette with hobs for cooking.

The bedrooms are really nice and the bed was very comfortable. And the bathroooms are very luxurious.

It loses one star because there is no breakfast or breakfast option and it's pretty expensive. I'm probably being harsh there though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first night in New Zealand and we were impressed! The service was outstanding! The owner offered us a small breakfast (they even had glutenfree bread and lactose free milk!), without any charges. Our room was small (there are bigger ones as well) but very cosy. Everything was very clean and very nice! Free DVDs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great place to live at in Christchurch. It is about 10 minutes drive from the city center, which is still recuperating from the 2011 earthquake. The hotel proudly stands at 132 years of age and has a vintage look that gives it a very romantic aura, perfect for honeymooners like us. The lady at the reception was very welcoming and gave us handy tips on where to eat and visit.

We stayed at Merivale Manor for 2 nights, one day each at the start and end of our roadtrip of the south island. The room during our first night was equipped with a full kitchen, music system and Jacuzzi bath. However, during our return trip, though the room price was only 10NZD less, it was considerable smaller in size and had no Jacuzzi. Hence the reason I gave 4 stars to the hotel. Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichaBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and it has always been very pleasant. The rooms are comfortable and clean. They provide breakfast ingredients, so you can have a light breakfast in your room before heading off for the day. There is a laundry for guests and you can park your car right outside of your room. I highly recommend Merivale Manor, a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estherMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We will definitely return! Excellent, friendly service. Great value for money...and a few extras thrown in. From the moment you enter the Manor you are welcomed...you feel at home. Even though the Manor lies beside a busy road, my sleep was not interrupted. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in a blistering 29 deg C Christchurch from a -2 deg C UK after 24hrs or so on planes.

Thank You - Merivale Manor for the quick, friendly and helpful check in.

The main building is well presented Victorian building with many of the original features intact. We secretly coverted their coving and picture rails.

Our room was not large but was well appointed and perfectly good for two adults. The iPod / iPhone compatible stereo was particularly good as it mean't we didn't have fiddle around with chargers so early on in the trip - little things make the difference sometimes.

Location, it's a 10 to 15 minute walk to the CBD but due to the relocation of many shops and restraunts after the earthquake to the Merivale area this is not a problem for an evenings dinning.

Recommended you have a read of the Christchurch Earthquake photo book in their library. It's somber reading but also inspiring as you see how Christchurch has reinvented itself since those events.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpacedMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.2 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Property: Merivale Manor
Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing