We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Had one of the studio rooms up the top of the main building and it was perfect. The room is quite small but sufficient for what we needed. A bit tight around the fireplace and the bed but other than that great. The heat pump had been put on prior to our arrival so the room was lovely and warm which was perfect given that there was snow on the ground outside.
The location of this place is good...a short walk to some good cafes/restaurants.
We will definitely be staying here next time we visit Christchurch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    131
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
133
312
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

As a frequent traveller to Christchurch over the years, staying mostly in the centre of the city around the Cathedral, I was greatly sadened over the now "Red Zone" area that was my usual visit location. My criteria for accomodation in Christchurch now includes a low rise building that is wooden within close walking distance to a cafe, shops etc. The Merivale Manor is all this and so much more. The service is excellent, the rooms very comfortable and the overall stay is good value. I have stayed here now 3 times since the Feb 22 big quake and will continue to do so forever more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

The hotel is an old heritage home converted into hotel. We rented family studio for our two days stay in Christchurch. The room was large with high ceiling, nice & clean with full kitchen. The Merivale Mall (with a super market) is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The owner was caring and helpful. It is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I have been meanting to write this review for a few months, I stayed at Merrivale Manor every week for about 6 months after the first earthquake. It is outstanding, to find a place to stay that is so well presented with friendly, helpful owners when you are away from home is essential. The rooms are large with fully equipped kitchens, all the mod cons and some units have roomy twin showers. This is the only place I would stay in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Ask for the best fit for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomebaseTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

This is the third time I've stayed here. The manor is just gorgeous! The rooms are all beautifully furnished, and spacious.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful.
I'm so glad this lovely property has withstood the recent earthquakes!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodnightKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

What a wonderful motel. Great value, friendly service, clean modern and classy rooms. Being on a business trip I am now reviewing a few motels and this is by far exceeds our other accomodation experiences.
Thank you Merivale Manor. I will be highly recommending you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1Dunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

This month (Feb 2011) seemed to be an incredibly busy time for hotels in the downtown Christchurch area, and although I wanted to book in the CBD area, all of the available rooms were in the $250-400 range.
Fortunately, I found Merivale Manor, and was blown away by the quality of the rooms for a reasonable price.
The room I stayed in was quite large and spacious, with high ceilings and a somewhat traditional and luxurious feel.

Great people, great facilities, reasonable location (closer to the airport than CBD is), and close to grocery stores and the Merivale Mall. Less than 2km from CBD, so it was walkable, but the bus stop is right in front anyway. Taxis are always close by too, so transportation was not too much of an issue.

They offered free milk and bread (when asked for), an assortment of teas and jams, very nice organic shampoos. Modern stove top, microwave, electric kettle, iron, radio/CD player? (didn't use it), flat-panel TV.
Even a special fixed heater for the bathroom.
Free DVD selection to borrow as well.

Mike and Samantha were great--extremely friendly and very helpful. They give off a "neighborly" feel.

In any hotel you stay at, there can be minor issues from time to time. When I had some internet connectivity issues at first, Mike spent a good deal of time coming in and out making sure everything was working fine. He was extremely bubbly and courteous.

We also made a mistake in our booking, booking for 3 nights and not 4, which I realized on the third day. Unfortunately, all the rooms had been booked out that 4th night long in advance, so Samantha and Mike went out of their way to make sure me and my colleagues were moved into an available room in the Diplomat Motel right across the road.
We went out for business that morning, and while we were gone, Mike packed up all of our belongings and moved everything into the other accomodation for us!.
He even moved our food that was in the fridge on the Merivale Manor dishes into the other motel's fridge!

Overall, I can't recommend Merivale Manor enough!

--Jacob

p.s. The recent earthquake has affected everyone in the Christchurch area, but if you are concerned, it may be helpful for me to note that Merivale Manor rooms are all on the 1st or 2nd floors, which makes it safer.

The buildings that are the most susceptible to structural damage from earthquakes are generally the multi-storeyed buildings downtown.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacob5318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Property: Merivale Manor
Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing