We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fascinating and great shop

I really enjoyed this, not just because I have a physics degree but also because of the information... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2018
HKinsey
,
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
via mobile
history time!

If you are a history buff like me you must visit here! Loved going in to the lecture theatre and... read more

Reviewed July 30, 2018
kwocka
,
South East England, United Kingdom
Read all 17 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Christchurch
from $24.30
More Info
from $210.20
More Info
from $20.80
More Info
from $69.40
More Info
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
7
8
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lecture theatre his life science nuclear physical exhibition display exhibits history
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 17 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I really enjoyed this, not just because I have a physics degree but also because of the information about the great man.
And the tee shirts are awesome!

Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

If you are a history buff like me you must visit here! Loved going in to the lecture theatre and sitting in the seat looking at all the engravings in the wood from so long ago!

Thank kwocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

We have no science background but the works and life of Ernest Rutherford as presented in this exhibition is captivating. I can't claim to understand everything but this was a really interesting experience

Thank W4lking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

I had heard of Rutherford and his work on atoms but I had no idea how really really important he was until I visited this exhibition. All kiwis and tourists will be amazed to learn how important he was through this impressive display. It’s interactive and fun as well. You’ll be surprised with what you find.

Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denshop, Visitor Co-ordinator at Rutherford's Den, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you for reviewing Rutherford's Den. We are pleased you had fun in our museum, and learned about the important discoveries Rutherford made during his scientific career!

Thank you for your visit, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017

It's an interesting subject to show in his old den - although the actual den is a bit of an afterthought at the end of the display. Good for getting kids interested in nuclear physics and it does multimedia displays better than most do now, along with some hands-on items. $20 only gets you about three rooms though.

Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denshop, Visitor Co-ordinator at Rutherford's Den, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Thank you for visiting Rutherford's Den. We are pleased you were impressed with our interactive multimedia displays, over the three floors of the museum. We aim to engage with as wide an age range of visitors as possible into the world of physics, and with Rutherford's life.

Thanks for visiting Rutherford's Den. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

Lovely little museum with very keen, enthusiastic and helpful staff. Really well laid out with lots of interactive exhibits. Interesting information about Rutherford’s life and the people who influenced him/worked with him but without overload. Our 3 year old enjoyed the interactive play and making pictures with the hexagons!

Thank Kpantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denshop, Rutherford's Den Staff at Rutherford's Den, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Thank you for visiting Rutherford's Den! We are pleased you enjoyed our museum and that your three year old was entertained by our interactive exhibits.

Thanks again for visiting Rutherford's Den, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

Rutherford is one person all New Zealanders should know at least something about his life and work, and this exhibit is just the thing to do it.

Thank Tenorman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 29, 2017

Thank you for your great review of Rutherford's Den. We too are very proud of our Kiwi scientist, his work, and the influence he had on other scientists!
We'd like to welcome and encourage all Kiwis, and those from overseas, to visit and learn about the great man, Ernest Rutherford.

Thank you for visiting Rutherford's Den, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Good rainy day location proximate to Botanic gardens worth a visit with family as many interactive and learning exhibits of things that changed the future

Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 3, 2017

Thank you for your response. We take great pleasure in providing interactive and learning exhibits aimed at the entire family. Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017

A new addition in Christchurch since the earthquake is the Rutherford's Den. place where the young and old can learn about atoms, and ions and other science related things from the past. It's not a big place and would take maybe 2 hours top but it is interesting to visit.

I'm not sure if it is worth $20 a person, but the family price is worth is it.
on the top floor is where the lecture theatre is and then a small room where children can interact their energy to produce wind and such things.

I have to mention that there is no elevator, so if you have bad knees the stairs may not be suitable for you. That's ok, because if you decide not to go thru, there is a café right next store where you can sit and wait for them while enjoying coffee or across the street are some open craft markets.

Thank pretblueye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 15, 2017

Thank you for reviewing Rutherford's Den. We are pleased you found something educational and interesting for all ages.

With regards to the lack of lift/elevator, during the restoration we were not allowed to retrofit one as the building is a Historic Place Category 1. We understand that it can be challenging for those who have difficulties with stairs, and so encourage visitors to make use of the handrail and benches scattered around the exhibit. Visitors can take as long as they need to view the exhibit, working their way through at their own pace.

Thank you again for your excellent feedback and insights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

A good way to spend an hour on a rainy afternoon. Well presented interactive displays, and an interesting overview of one of New Zealand's most influential people. My 16 year old son did not want to go in, but I found him engrossed in many of the displays. Interesting from both the historical and scientific perspective. Very friendly staff.

Thank MichelleF325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 22, 2017

We at Rutherford's Den are very glad you enjoyed your time at the Den, and are very pleased to hear your son found it interesting too. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews