We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring and enjoyable re-start surprise!”
Review of The Tannery

The Tannery
Ranked #4 of 46 Shopping in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Boutique shopping in a restored Victorian Tannery, complete with stylish Atrium and crafted fittings. Discover shopping without stress, quality goods and services with an eye on the environment, local production and things out of the ordinary. Dining and casual food alongside craft beer, artisan bread and Canterbury produce.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Inspiring and enjoyable re-start surprise!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

As pre-earthquake residents of Christchurch (15 years ago) we toured today's city with heavy hearts, mixed with admiration for the city's courage and spirit. There are other examples of the city's rebirth, but our hearts really soared once we were introduced to the remarkable conversion of an industrial part of the old city into a friendly, beautifully finished, indoor mall occupied by New Zealand artisans and good eateries. We predict it will set a new standard for historical building re-use.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhyzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    32
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“So impressed !”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Wow i discovered The Tannery today and was so impressed ! What a beautiful place in the middle of the industrial area ! I hope people get to hear about it because this is one place you definitely wanna brows around, try one of the coffee shops and definitely buy something from their organic shop !

Helpful?
Thank KScheepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fizzy Sav Blanc”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I am disappointed to have to write a poor review, but I was horrified to find in ordering a glass of Sav Blanc it came out fizzy! After enquiring why and asking for a still wine I found the management unapologetic, but happy to sell me a more expensive glass of still wine. All in all a disappointment that let down the experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sabre-Six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“The Tannery”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I took some out of town visitors staying, they really enjoyed it. We spent the morning shopping, then had some lunch, wood fired pizza and later beautiful cakes in the atrium. Lots of fabulous fashion by New Zealand designers, art, jewellery and design stores, etc.
The building is just amazing, nothing like it in Christchurch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nixiemixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Creative Revival of an Old Tannery”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Christchurch is becoming well known as a city where creative use of derelict sites is brightening up the CBD & suburbs. The Tannery is another example of clever recycling of an old industrial site to fill a need for more shops & cafes while the inner city is being rebuilt.

Shops open so far include boutiques, children's clothes, new & secondhand books, a cycle shop as well as an excellent deli, cafe & bakery.

The complex also houses the Cassell's Bar & Grill and a restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zhuhai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tannery also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Tannery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing