We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation, great hosts, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #55 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, great hosts, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We enjoyed two nights at this B&B, with friendly and attentive hosts and excellent accommodation. The location is very convenient - close to all important locations - but in a lovely suburb. The B&B was not affected by the earthquake and is well away from the areas that were.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnoraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Johnoraro,
Many thanks for your colourful review of our "Greatstay".
We are pleased we fulfilled your requirements and we to enjoyed our time together.
Hopefully you will return when in Christchurch.
Regards,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
51
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Came down to Christchurch to work and was booked into this wonderful B&B. Great location, lovely room and superb hospitality couldn't have asked for more. I was made to feel so welcome and thoroughly enjoyed my stay look forward to the next time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Annie,
Many thanks for your glowing review.
We are pleased we met your expectations and that you will return.
Regards,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is a very comfortable place to stay. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful. The house is lovely. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler42808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear Traveller,
John and myself thank you for the review you gave our establishment.
We are pleased to have made you feel that you were "at home" and we enjoyed our time with you.
The earthquakes have not affected us, and we have been busy with the hotels and city establishments being closed.
We would love to hear from you of your holiday in New Zealand when you have time.
Regards,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Lesley and John are so friendly and they have a great place in a very convenient location. They make you feel like you are visiting with your favorite relatives. The rooms are comfortable and welcoming. They give you a great Kiwi style breakfast every morning, whenever you are ready....no rush. I would highly recommend this unique place to any one visiting Christchurch, especially if you enjoy feeling like you are at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Steve,
What a wonderful 5 star review you have written. We are pleased that you felt so relaxed and comfortable in our home. This is what we have striven for and achieved.
Many thanks, and good luck with your family.
Regards,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

How warm and welcoming John and Leslie made us feel during a recent stay. Apart from their generosity of spirit, both went the extra mile to ensure all 5 of us were well catered for. That tasty breakfast remains with me and left with a heavy heart having to say goodbye. A peaceful and beautifully spacious, well constructed home ( John:) that took great care of us. Thank You. Mem x

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memory1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear Memory,
You are most welcome and we are pleased that we could help you all at the time. What lovely memories we have of the company of you all. Your generosity to us as a team was most appreciated.
Love to see you another time.
Keep well,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

I found myself and my collegues at this wonderful B&B. It was actually my first time ever at a B&B as I always prefer Hotel's for business - however, circumstances meant I had no choice this time. With great delight we were greated by 2 amazingly warm, kind and considerate hosts in John and Lesley - it was like staying at home - but being pampered - spacious bedrooms (all with ensuites), your own TV room and a very comfortable bed - our hot breakfast was cooked to our liking and just kept comming - This place is outside the main CBD, so its quiet, safe and inviting - I will never stay in another christchurch hotel and be back to see John and Lesley soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyButFair100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear Jaybee,
Thank you for doing this review for us, and we are also blown away by your generosity to ourselves by you and your team.
We do look forward to seeing you all again when you are in Christchurch.
Best wishes,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cofresi, DR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at Greatstay during our recent trip to Christchurch in January 2011, and were not disappointed. Our hosts John and Leslie couldn't have been nicer! Leslie picked us up at the train station, and once we were settled into our very nice room, made us feel like members of the family. The house is spacious, nicely appointed, impeccably clean and very well located within easy walking distance to restaurants and local attractions. I enjoy taking a long walk each morning and was delighted to find a beautiful park with walking trails only a few blocks away. Breakfasts were delicious, and made to order, and Leslie was prepared with many helpful suggestions on things to do including disount coupons to most of the attractions. John and Leslie and our stay at Greatstays was a highlight of our trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casicielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Manager at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Cassiciel,
Thank you for your review, which was wonderful from our point of view.We know that we are doing things right when we get such a factual review.
As we have not been affected by the earthquake, we are in full bloom in "the house that John built".
Be safe, and maybe we will meet again.
Regards,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#81 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deans Bush Motel
Deans Bush Motel
#38 of 139 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#13 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
#10 of 139 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation

Property: Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation
Address: 33 Kilmarnock Street | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new home offers spacious and comfortable en-suite accommodation, which is quiet and restful.John and myself have sought to create a friendly atmosphere with the accent on luxury "home away from home." 25 Min walk to city centre, art centre and museum through Hagley Park Botanical Gardens. Beautiful walks, golf course and shopping minutes away. Close to Horncastle Arena,Riccarton Bush public hospital, university, airport, railway station and many fine restaurants.We have not been affected with damage by the earthquakes and are very happy to have both business and travelling visitors stay. We have high speed wi-fi .Most businesses are within our area of Riccarton and Addington. O.S.P. "Come as a guest, leave as a friend."SPECIAL: Happy hour with nibbles and host company. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing