We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody Marys on A Tuesday ...”
Review of Bloody Mary's

Bloody Mary's
Ranked #17 of 1,019 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bloody Mary's is New York steakhouse meets Kiwi hospitality for a Steakhouse experience not to be missed. Our menu features premium Canterbury Beef and Lamb and the freshest local ingredients we can get our hands on. We take some of the best ingredients from one of the purest places on earth and make them simply delicious. Our private dining spaces are perfect for that special occasion including the Whisky Library for up to 30 people and Private Dining Room for up to 50 people.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

On Tuesday we dined at Bloody Mary's Latimer Square. It was a special occasion and we enjoyed a fantastic leisurely meal and made a lovely night. The meals - we all had steak - were fantastic and the atmosphere warm, inviting and very relaxing. It was great to see it so well patronised for a Tuesday night. Had a great time and would recommend it as one of the best meals we've had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank STW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi STW2012

Thank you for taking the time to review BMs.

Its great to hear the we met your expectations and your party had a wonderful dining experience.

We have experienced a very high demand for Steak in the City midweek as well as weekends, it always worth while making a booking.

The team at Marys look forward to seeing you again soon


richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Bloody Mary's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 761 of 842 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was the best buffet breakfast I have had - the selection was amazing and everything cooked beautifully. There were a variety of fruit smoothies ready made in small bottles, along with a good selection of juices. I had the strawberry and coconut smoothie which was divine. There was everything from Miso Soup, fruits and cereals, homemade baked beans, fresh poached eggs on spoons refreshed regularly, scrambled eggs and other hot foods, hot smoked salmon, fruit and savoury muffins, pastries and lots more, as well as a Bloody Mary corner where you can make your own drink if you need a pick me up in the morning. I'll definitely be coming back here for breakfast next time I am in Christchurch!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wineluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi wineluvva

Its great to read about our awesome breakfast. Rise with Marys is often the forgotten service. Our breakfast is constantly evolving, with some fantastic additions coming soon. One thing that with never change though is the bloody mary station.


regards


richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

What an Amazing place! My eye fillet was beautifully cooked and I loved the way you got to choose your sauce, veggies & potatoes separately! Our waitress was very attentive and was more than happy for us to try the wine before we bought a bottle. Excellent Service!
Can't wait to go back!!

Thank Alibaliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you Alibaliboo, for your kind words,

Marys has always aimed to be a cut above, with fresh local produce and excellent service. Its great to read that we are achieving this.


regards

richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Even though this is part of a motel, it's a trendy spot to have a late night wine or beer. The staff are all friendly and more than helpful. My partner and I shared a platter for 2 with a couple of glasses of wine... The food was fresh and tasty (oysters, warmed cashews, lamb croquette, mini fish and chips and breads).... Would definitely come here for a catch up with friends before or after the rugby... Even after work....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BennyTheBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi BennyTheBoss

thank you for taking the time to review BMs.

Marys has become a trend little spot, we think of it as the place to be seen, when you dont want to be seen. The little Bits Platter is rather yum.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


regards

richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had an awesome steak with some interesting sides, not cheap but I thought good value overall. Cheapest wine at $45 I thought a bit hefty! Service not great for our junior waitress, might need a bit more training! Thankfully other more senior members were more on the ball. Would have been an easy 5 if the service had been better.

Thank aquaknacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi aquaknacker,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw Bloody Marys.

Our winelist is one of our biggest drwcards, and we feel offers excellent choice and value for money across the board, the winelist does however start at $36 per bottle with 28 wines avaliable by the glass.

Marys dinner team is continuing to develope and evolve and waitstaff (junior or senior) are continually attending training session to improve.


regards

richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloody Mary's also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bloody Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing