We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Lamb”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bloody Mary's

Bloody Mary's
Ranked #15 of 967 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, European, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bloody Mary's is New York steakhouse meets Kiwi hospitality for a Steakhouse experience not to be missed. Our menu features premium Canterbury Beef and Lamb and the freshest local ingredients we can get our hands on. We take some of the best ingredients from one of the purest places on earth and make them simply delicious.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Lamb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Tried Bloody Mary's before the Guy Sebastian concert and was definitely not disappointed. Started with the Scallops on Black Pudding, with puree peas. Sounds odd but they were devine. Also had the Giant Olives, which i shared with my wife these were also great. For the Main we tried the Braised Lamb shoulder with seasonal veges. This was a dish for 2 and we barely managed to finish it. It was so tender and moist it was devine. The service was excellent and the decore and atmosphere were great. Will go back next time i am in Christchurch so i can try some of the other offerings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hi Duncan R

Full Bellys Before Guy Sebastian. The Merino lamb shoulder is a great dish.

As part of our seven deadly sins of summer Tuesday Pride Shoulder for 2 and a bottle of Pinot $99, a great deal to come back for.

regards


richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    186
    76
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metz, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great choice of cocktails large bar and great service, outside terrace to sit in the sun, the place is amidst the city centre

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lutz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
thanks Lutz9999 for the great review, we do have some great cocktails. Sitting on the terrace on a nice summer day, enjoying the view across Latimer Square, great way to spend an afternoon

regards


richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refused to honour their online menu prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great looking restaurant with beautiful decor, however their prices were up approx 30% on their online menu (which was what we used to base our choice of restaurant).

Apparently the prices had only just changed the day before and they had not yet gotten around to update their website. No problem (we thought). Surely they will honour their advertised prices..."NO".

The junior waitress was sent in to tell us that the prices are as they are stated on their nicely new printed menus (actually looks like photocopies), while the manager didn't even get off their seat.

No thanks. We won't be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Tony G,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your experience at Bloody Marys.
We pride ourselves on our high level of service standard. Our aim is to exceed customer expectation, judging by your review we under delivered on this occasion. The member of staff on duty was in fact a senior supervisor, and we have every confidence in her judgment.
As previously pointed out to another member of your party, unfortunately our web designer was away on annual leave at the time. Also while our prices have increased so has the size of the portions, to help create a more satisfying dining experience.
Bloody Marys doesn’t shy away from criticism. Rest assured everything is being done to ensure you experience is not replicated. We will also be looking into the quality of our menu paper.
While you have said you won’t be back, we hope that at sometime in the future, you’ll return to enjoy the full Bloody Marys experience.
.
Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Elegance,Style,Class and much more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a visitor from Auckland and dinned at Bloody Marys tonight.

From the moment we walked through the impressive main entrance we new we had picked the right place for dinner. The ambiance and decor reminded us of an old boys club where only the elite could attend and you had to be on the VIP list to get in and we were part of it.
Our barman tonight was very friendly on arrival and had a very good hand when it came to mixing drinks. We had our first drinks in the Library Bar which was so relaxing, we could have stayed in their all night just soaking up the atmosphere however someone in our party was getting hungry.

We had booked the booth but found this a little too snugly so asked to be moved to another table and the hostess was very accommodating. Our waitress for tonight was extremely friendly, professional and very knowledgeable about the food, its a bugger I didn't get her name so you knew who served us. It was so great to see the perfect crease in their uniforms, and have that silver service feel, in fact the entire staff were very professional and immaculately dressed and had that genuine pleasantness and so good to see staff that actually want to be at work.

Now the food:
We all ordered from Marys grill and were impressed with the selection from their entire menu. We skipped the entree as the dessert menu was just as impressive so thought we would leave room for this. The steaks that we all ordered were cooked to perfection! moist like a steak should be, tender like a steak should be and temperature perfect and of course accompanied with the most amazing sauce and potato. The entire table agree that this was the best steak we have had in a while and the first steak that we have not had to season.
My partner had the Cambridge burnt cream which had that perfect sound when your spoon went through the top layer while I had an Irish coffee which was a perfect finish to our meals.

I would highly recommend Bloody Marys to all our colleagues and friends here in Christchurch, Auckland and overseas visitors. Bloody Marys is a great addition to the Christchurch area and will defiantly return.
Thank you to you and your staff for a silver service experience through and through and for making our night an enjoyable and memorable one.

Kind Regards
Louise

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louiselamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Louise,

Thank you for the amazing review. We always appreciate reading that were doing such a fantastic job. we lookforward to seeing you again soon

regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Second time and same results”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I love this place. Me and two friends went out for a drink last night and after a few beers in the sunny outdoor courtyard went inside for dinner. My fist experience here was relatively quiet, its good to see from reviews below and how many tables were in that they have picked up the pace. We were seated by a lovely young woman with a European? accent. Our waitress Eve introduced herself and quickly watered us and gave us the specials, this was the trend throughout the meal, no asking for water, offers of drinks just at the right moments. The other two on the table both had the seafood chowder and I once again had the smoked venison. We were surprised to have the chowder be placed in front of us with just the seafood in the bowl and no liquid but then the creamy sauce was then poured over the seafood from a jug at the table .awesome. I wish more places would add these slight touches of theater to the dining experience. Mains were Salmon for the lady, and two steaks for the men. Hash brown was great, and the sudden lack of talking tells me all i need to know about the other dishes. I did manage to get my fork into the risotto that was served with the salmon and again, i couldn't fault it.
No room for dessert I'm afraid but never mind, just an excuse to go back again. Good work, keep it up.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whiskey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you Wiskey W,

Its good to read that our service standards are being maintained and that Marys has regular diners so quickly after opening. We do try to exceed expectation with the little nods to long forgotten service standards.



Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloody Mary's also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bloody Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing