We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak I have had in Christchurch- no exaggeration”
Review of Bloody Mary's

Bloody Mary's
Ranked #17 of 1,019 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bloody Mary's is New York steakhouse meets Kiwi hospitality for a Steakhouse experience not to be missed. Our menu features premium Canterbury Beef and Lamb and the freshest local ingredients we can get our hands on. We take some of the best ingredients from one of the purest places on earth and make them simply delicious. Our private dining spaces are perfect for that special occasion including the Whisky Library for up to 30 people and Private Dining Room for up to 50 people.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Took some clients there for a Xmas lunch in early December- great service, lovely decor, good location. Drinks first- excellent choice of beers and wines at prices you would expect. Service excellent, the meals were great, oysters to start, and then one of the best steaks I have ever had- cooked to perfection, sides were adequate, nicely presented.

Couple of minor issues- the lunch menu is limited, be better with a wider choice, certainy the dinner menu looked excellent and I will return in the evening to check that out. Price is toppy, special events, work related entertainment, not you ' why don't we pop out and garb a bite' pricing.

This restaurant is a very welcome addition to Christchurch, lovely indoor and outdoor (summer evenings) area's, great service and food to match - well done guys...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank beardo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you beardo888,

Marys team prides itself on service and quality of produce we use. The attention to detail in the cuts of meat we source will continue to ensure that we have the best steak in Christchurch - no exaggeration.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Bloody Mary's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 809 of 842 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We dined at Bloody Mary's last night on our stay at the Rydges.
Had the "Two Share" lamb meal which consisted of a kilo of lamb shoulder, with potatoes, peas and carrots.
The lamb just pulled off the bone and was the best I've ever had.
The staff were perfect, attentive, happy and just all round professionals.
Will be back and have already recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kirsten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Uttley, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hi Kristen,
Thank you for your review.
Caterbury lamb is fantastic, and some of the finest in the world, were glad you enjoyed it and our chefs did it justice. This is one of my favorite dishes.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Highly recommend, I had the t-bone it was to die for, the others had the pork and sirloin all cooked to perfection, our waitress Natasha was exceptionally good considering she was training.
Dessert was average I had the poached pear although the pear was good the biscuit was really bland. The cocktails are good but id take the Asian spice one of the menu!
Would definatly dine again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kiwichic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryQMary, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Its amazing motivation for the team when they get a presonal shout out in a review. We'll pass on your comments to Natasha a long with a special little thank you for a job well done.
We'll also discuss your comments about dessert, we're sorry you didn't enjoy it after your main courses were such a hit. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thanks for sharing your experience,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ordered the burger for dinner via room service. Whilst the burger and chips were of a high standard the serving was small and at $29 a little on the steep side.

2  Thank NMFC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryQMary, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We'll have a chat with our team and review the serving sizes and price. We're glad you found the quality of a high standard though, we have to get that right!
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We loved the slow cooked lamb shoulder with vegies & sauces.
It was for 2 people to share. It was superb. We had it 3 times, because it was so good. Wines were of mixed prices. We only had their cheaper one and it was excellent. Highly recommend.

Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryQMary, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

That's a whole lot of Lamb! But who can blame you... Its a whole lot easier to cook the perfect Lamb shoulder when you can get your hands on superb local produce grown right here in Canterbury. We're glad you enjoyed it, thank you for your review.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloody Mary's also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bloody Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing