We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Miki is a delightful host at this excellent B&B. It is tastefully decorated with comfortable bedrooms and excellent cooked breakfast. Located in a quiet residential road a few minutes drive fom the city which is still sadly devastated after the earthquake, it is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
29
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akaroa, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I spend 2 nights in the Gingerbread Lodge and after my long journey I was looking forward to a nice room and nice people. Luckily I found this at the Gingerbread Lodge. The room was very cozy and tidy and the breakfast was delicious and it was plenty. Miki is such a lovely and helpful person, I really enjoyed talking to her and staying at her place. I can only highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferheise1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and it was just awesome. Miki is a very lovely, open-minded, communicative and caring host and offers a wonderful breakfast according to your wishes. Her dog Ko is so cute and loves to play and be cuddled by the guests. Our "Queen" room was spacious, nicely decorated, very clean and equipped with all you need and a modern en-suite shower/toilet. We loved the La-Z-Boy recliners. The house is located in a lovely area, a 30min walk away from the centre town with bus stops nearby. We would definitely go back if we visited Christchurch again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gubipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We would 100% recommend this beautiful B&B. It's clean, spacious, comfortable and was in a great location. Close to shops and city. Best of all was the outstanding breakfast cooked by the host Miki. We extremely enjoyed our stay.
Thank you Miki.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay if you don't want to stay in a motel or hotel. Pretty nice rose garden and always clean. We had a very good time in Gingerbread. What's more it close to the Spa pool.

Room Tip: very close the city center and Pioneer spa pool, convenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocosunz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My Mum and I stayed at Gingerbread Lodge for one night at the end of November. The house is beautiful, clean and comfortable....it sure has a fairytale feel to it. We had an ensuite room at the back of the house which we could access either from within the main house or via its own separate outside access, the bed was super comfy and the shower had very good pressure and there was a heatpump in the room too. The owner Miki is absolutely lovely, so accommodating and friendly and her cooked breakfast was delicious ( and lots of options to select from). Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this B&B if you'll looking for a home away from home and really good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemarieHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Gingerbread Lodge for one night at short notice. Miki was so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble & great conversations. We really enjoyed our stay in the King Room. A gorgeous B & B that we thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
1,685 reviews
5.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
6.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 108 Roker Street, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gingerbread Lodge. A Fairytale Bed and Breakfast in Christchurch, New Zealand Gingerbread Lodge is located on a very quiet and beautiful tree-lined street in the Christchurch suburb of Somerfield. Only a short walk away from a shopping mall and public transport, it offers a balance of convenience and peacefulness. Recently this 1920's colonial style house has been architecturally redesigned with a fairytale inspired theme. It is built with beautiful New Zealand Rimu timber and Oamaru stone. Your host Miki warmly welcomes you beautiful Christchurch and will ensure that your stay is comfortable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing