We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I recently stayed here for work, the hotel was really lovely. Great friendly and efficient staff. Big clean room with a stunning view of the city and the port hills. I would say the only thing that let it down was the parking. But as the city is in the middle of a rebuild it is something that will improve in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for the city side as it has a great view the other side is looking out over the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteLee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Charlotte,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor!

Not sure what you mean about the parking?..Can you come back to me on that?

We have secure parks under our hotel, valet parking and (far be it from me not to try and sell our valet parking service) but free parking abounds because of the empty space around the hotel, wonderfully free until new buildings go up..!

Please let me know what you meant about the parking..maybe we didn't meet you/direct you?


Carl and The team at Novotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    442
    118
    26
    13
See reviews for
154
408
67
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northam, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for 1 night at the start of our trip. We arrived early morning cold, foggy and a bit damp. We thought we would see about check in early. possible of a small charge. Maybe even a small discount for being an Accor Loyalty member. So we asked. To be told about $120. Are you serious? We came back later and someone else was at desk and checked us in. The Executive room was GREAT. View to the cathedral. No noise. Staff apart from 1 were fantastic. The bell boy (think thats his title) thats stands by door to help was AMAZING, he had maps and our route planned out. Definitely recommend to family snd friends

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BruceandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hi Bruce and Amber,

$120 dollars...no way!! I'm going to check that out..good lord ... and an ACCOR Member to boot!

Gawd, we really do trip ourselves up sometimes don't we?.. drop me an email so I can follow it up for you..

I'm glad you liked Andrew at the front door..I'm assuming it was him..EVERYONE says he's awesome!!

Many thanks for your feedback, I hope we will see you again.

Kind regards

Carl and The Team at Novotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. We were Very pleased with it - this is such a nice hotel!

Bad things: Wi-Fi isn't free, most of the area nearby is still under construction, there is no parking

Good things: the rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable, the staff is incredibly nice and helpful, they have maps and recommendations for places nearby to go for dinner (some walkable, some where you might prefer to drive), there was an abandoned gravel lot outside where I could park for free (though the hotel warned that since they didn't own it, they couldn't accept liability if something happened), they have laundry machines available for use in the basement ($4/load) which was so useful, and their minibar is reasonably well stocked.

All in all we had a great stay there. It was nice to be able to walk to the restart area too!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Jen D,

Thanks for posting your comments on TripAdvisor – Good and bad!

We continue to struggle with the free Wif-Fi issue..but we’re getting there thank you!

Yes, our city is under construction, we will have a whole new futuristic green city as a result.

We have tons of parking, free around the hotel, and 25 valet spaces (secure) under the hotel, in case you visit us on your return through Christchurch.

I’m glad our staff were nice and helpful and were able to recommend places for you.
We look forward to seeing you on your return.

Kind regards’

Carl and The team at Novotel Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed for just one night, and was very happy with the choice. Its an oasis in the midst of all the reconstruction in the city.
Friendly staff who are there to help, and know when to leave you alone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeb1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Abeb 1900

Many thanks for your TripAdvisor comments!

We appreciate them.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back.

Kind regards

Carl and The team at Novotel Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a lovely few days at this hotel and we were very well looked after. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was well laid out and comfortable and I slept really well. We ate at the restaurant as there is limited availability elsewhere due to the earthquake damage. I am gluten intolerant and the staff were very helpful and non judgmental, the chef even came out to talk to me about my requirements and I had some great meals. Its always difficult when I travel so this type of service makes a huge difference to me so thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Zoe E,

Many thanks for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.,

I'm glad we were able to satisfy your needs gluten free and that the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The Chef does love to go out and talk to guests..hes a friendly fellow!.

I am happy that our service made a difference to you.

Kind regards

Carl and The Team at Novotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotel is lovely and cosy. Service is brilliant but I was here on business and due to the lack of restaurants around the place had to order room service. So tasteless. No salt on food and was so dissapointed with the lack of taste ad watery jus. Expensive tasteless meal. But can't not fault th hotel and facilities and staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
To NZ Traveler 81

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Christchurch.

We are pleased that you could not fault the hotel facilities and our staff, but disappointed that we did not come up to scratch with the room service.
We have noted your comments.
Look , I hope you will visit us again, let me know when you do (carl.braddock@accor.com) and we’ll keep a special eye out for you

Nathan (F and B Manager), and The Team at Novotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Christchurch without a doubt has had a hard time since the earthquakes that rocked the city. This hotel stands out on the skyline as it is right in the city but nice and modern and new and very safe feeling. Sid the front of house manager went out of his way to look after us. The rooms are very modern with everything you can need. Restaurant and bar is great and parking is on the doorstep at no cost. I will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramaticAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Dramatic Auckland,

Many thanks for your kind posting to TripAdvisor!

I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and Yes, Sid IS awesome! the guests love him and his Team loves him too, I'm glad he looked after you.

We look forward to seeing you back again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
903 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Property: Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing