We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #19 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Lovely new hotel very comfortable room on the 8th floor over looking the very sad remains of the Cathedral. Enjoyed great breakfasts each morning and a lovely meal in the restaurant one evening. Andrew the concierge was extremely friendly, interested in our visit to Christchurch and helped us greatly finding our way around the CBD under rebuild. Good luck Christchurch in your recovery.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Burnsee,

Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback with us. I am very pleased to hear that Andrew was extremely helpful and will proudly share your comments with our team. This will certainly act as encouragement to all of them.

Burnsee, thank you once again for your continued support. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    420
    109
    25
    13
See reviews for
144
388
62
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

In all honesty, there is nothing much left in Christchurch apart from this hotel. After spending three days in chc it's devastating to see the damage post earthquake and even more sad to see how the whole city feels like a ghost town. This hotel is great, clean, good beds, central location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekingduck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Pekingduck123,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Christchurch is in its rebuilding stages and we too are eagerly awaiting completion of our new city.

Your support is very much appreciated and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again. I hope to be able to welcome you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I spent four nights at this hotel and was very impressed. It is all new and very we'll designed. The staff could not have been nicer especially the concierge who was excellent at finding the best places to eat. Very convenient location right next to what remains of the cathedral. It was however sad to see the extent of the damage with so many old buildings now gone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CliveMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear CliveMJW,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am very happy to hear that you had an excellent stay here.

Our staff are truly an asset and I will certainly share your comments with them.

Thank you once again. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
206 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Booked prepaid in advance to get savings for business conference stay.
Got 11th floor executive so not sure how different from other floors.

Comfortable bed, though flat hard pillows--I used the comforter off the second bed to create a comfortable pillow. The room had odd shapes and places such as the sink with folding mirror that created the wall/divider between the bed and bath area. I took the tea kettle tray etc. over to the desk away from the vanity. Small frig with milk (but I always find them noisy). Good a/c and heat with windows that do not open. The floor under the carpet is lumpy--odd. Floor heating by the sink, but not in the tub/toilet room. Safe in closet along with iron. Also hair dryer and clock/radio provided. If I ran the fan at night I rarely heard neighbors except when adjoining room returned at 4am.

I used the 20-minute free internet in lobby on my machine as well as the Apple terminals they provided. Printer not working so had to email boarding pass to front desk clerk to print. Helpful staff.

I had breakfast one day and the buffet was OK with special order eggs. Bar OK. Heard from others that dinner good. Saw coin washer/dryer in basement but did not use. Did not see fitness center.

Very few restaurants or stores open in the city center and some that are open not so good. The suburbs are still better in those areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Metwo3,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I do often receive mixed feedback regarding our bathroom design and understand that this may not suit all our guests.

I will certainly share your feedback with our staff as this will act as encouragement to all of them.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments with us. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here, central location so easy to walk to some of the city highlights such as Cathedral sq, new regent St, restart, transitional cathedral etc. Clean rooms. Friendly. We would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debtravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Debtravelcat,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and excellent rating with us. I am very pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed our central location, but also our friendly and efficient team.

Your continued support is very much appreciated and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We have had a relaxing and pampered stay at this hotel. We are part of Leclub so we enjoyed the complimentary internet. We loved the espresso coffee machine in our room. We ate at the restaurant, the service provided by our server Mai was excellent as well as our meal. The portions were generous with vegetables that accompanied the main.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patriciamarkwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear patriciamarkwick,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are certainly received with great pleasure and I am very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our friendly service.

I will pass on your excellent feedback regarding Mai and the rest of the restaurant/kitchen team to all staff. This will certainly act as encouragement to all our team members.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments with us. I do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
385 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is in the middle of the earthquake damaged zone and several lots around it are still just flat gravel areas. The hotel itself is newly renovated and right next to the Cathedral and within a 5 min walk to the amazing botanical gardens. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LG4KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear LG4KL,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay and found us to be a great hotel.

We certainly appreciate your continued support and loyalty and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.5 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Property: Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing