We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life returns to the city..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #18 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
birmingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Life returns to the city..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in Dec 2013 Drove to Chch from Nelson , fabulous drive , found my way to the Novotel easily without a GPS , the neon sign is hard to miss ! Free parking on a vacant site next door , friendly welcome , bar was shut late on a Friday but I was directed to a couple of nearby bars for a late beer after a long drive . There are lots of comments about the battered city centre , but compared to my last visit two years ago , when the whole centre was cordoned off , it was lovely to see life returning to the city - an excellent weekend craft market , the re Start mall , the museum open and busy and a few local bars full of people having a good time. My room was comfy , good bed , wifi included with a superior room , consistently helpful service in friendly NZ style . Went on a Christchurch rebuild tour from the museum which is highly recommended. I am confident central Christchurch will flourish again , and I hope to come back in a few years to see its mostly new centre . I admire the people of Christchurch for their courage through difficult times , and the Novotel is recommended

Room Tip: Wifi included with a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear flatworm,

Thank you for your excellent comments and feedback. You are absolutely correct in saying the city has progressed immensely in the last 2 years and there are now several activities, restaurants and bars nearby.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we very much appreciate your continued support.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to our new city in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    432
    111
    26
    13
See reviews for
148
396
64
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed New Years Eve and January 1st in the Novotel Christchurch, dead centre of the Red Zone literally, it was about the only building occupied. Makes it a challenge finding the correct roads on arrival. The hotel is modern and the rooms are lovely and spacious. There's a novel bathroom and vanity combination that works well for bathing but not so sure I want my tea mugs etc stored with the vanity basin, dosen't seem very hygenic. The hotel is easily within walking distance of the Avon, parks and sights and handy to shopping but a bit further to walk to the most popular restaurant areas, still it was only a $10 taxi ride. All the staff were very pleasant and friendly and helpful with advice for directions and recommendations to great restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whakat1k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Whakat1k1,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Christchurch. I am very pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be new and modern and our staff friendly.

As you have mentioned, our location is certainly unique and provides for great views of centre city.

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as it was in the heart of the city. Sadly noone told us there was no longer a city! We knew Christchurch had been hit by earthquakes but the city is still a ruins with very little to do in the heart of the city. I would have liked it if the hotel gave a map or guide as to what was around in the area for dining or sightseeing. Overall a great hotel and I would stay there again now I know a short cab drive or walk will get you places.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear catdog13,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am pleased to hear that you found us to be a great hotel. Christchurch is certainly in its rebuilding stage and we too are eagerly awaiting our new city to be completed.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not offered a map as we do certainly have these and offer them proactively to all our guests. I will ensure this is passed on to our team.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments with us. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is in the centre of town, but the view from the room was very sad sight as you can see all the empty lots of where there used to be buildings. We got a room with the cathedral view which was nice.
The staff are very friendly and helpful - there was an empty space next to the building which is quite handy if you are driving and it's free.
The superior room was big and spacious as well, which was handy as we stayed here for 8 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maishirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear shirlz99,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 8 night stay with us and found our rooms to be big and spacious. Our staff are truly our biggest asset and your comments certainly re-iterate this.

shirlz99, thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us. I do hope you visit us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Given the shock of seeing such destruction in the CBD and the subdued mood that it gave us, I found no problems with this hotel. It ticked nearly all the boxes. At the Cathedral Square open market we met a wonderful NZ lady that took us for a 3 hour tour of the city and neighboring towns. We found New Zealanders to be very pleasant and polite. The hotel staff were no exception. We ate at the Novotel Restaurant on our last night and would highly recommend it. The meals were magnificent. Hopefully the City will eventually be rebuilt. Ourselves living in an earthquake zone were very disturbed by what we saw.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Alan P,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we ticked all the boxes.

Christchurch is certainly on the bounce back and very popular with tourists. Your support is very much appreciated and we too are eagerly awaiting completion of the rebuild.

Thank you once again for staying with us. I certainly hope you will visit newly built Christchurch in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Check in personnel were very kind, but that is pretty much the best asset to this hotel. It is located in the center, where many buildings still stand, but they are empty and spooky! Our room was immaculate, but so tiny and cramped. The view, for someone in New Zealand on their first day, was totally unnerving. A crumbling church, eery modern art statues, and vacant hotel buildings. There are no restaurants to speak of in the area-we walked quite far to find anything at all.
Breakfast was very nice, but the staff were cold and distant. It was just unwelcoming in general, and I feel terrible saying so. This is possibly one of my first negative reviews, but I just can't recommend staying here. It was too sterile for me!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear HJR2011,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. For this, please accept my apology.

As you may be aware, Christchurch did go through a devastating earthquake in 2011 and we are in the re-build stages of the recovery process. I do understand that you were inconvenienced by this, however, please rest assured our guests' comfort is our top priority.

I am appaled to hear that our breakfast staff came across as cold and distant and will certainly ensure this is followed up with the team. This is certainly not the standard we expect.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and giving us the opportunity to better serve you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed just overnight - good rooms, spacious and great views over a sad sight being the old Cathedral at the time. Very accommodating in the bar as we arrived late - so needed food was served. Would also look to stay here in Christchurch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MainlanderNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear MainlanderNelson,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed your room, but also the great service provided by our team members.

Your continued support is very much appreciated and I certainly look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Property: Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing