We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night in October 2013 after having stayed there previously in October 2010 after their first earthquake, so was very please to be able to return & support this hotel amidst a very ravaged city. The rooms are lovely & clean & a very comfy bed. We had a view out over a very sad scene but very encouraging to see all the cranes & to know that Christchurch is rising from the ashes. Staff all very friendly & helpful from the bright reception area to the Restaurant. We enjoyed a lovely dinner there & nice buffet breakfast in the morning. Able to park our car beside hotel in the rubble filled car park. Enjoyed another visit to the Botanical Gardens, beautiful. Like the idea of the sink outside the main bathroom, handy when hubby in bathroom. Loved the Restart Mall has a lovely buzzy feel Congrats to the staff at the Novotel for a very enjoyable one night stay, it was our last night before returning home to Melbourne after a 17 night north & south Island trip thankyou.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Lulu09,

Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback with us. It is great to have you stay with us again and I am very pleased to know that you were well looked after by our friendly and efficient staff. They are truly an asset and your comments re-iterate the excellent work they do each day.

I do get several mixed comments regarding our bathroom sink layout and I am very happy to know this suited you well.

Your continued support is extremely important to us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 950 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the newly opened Novotel. While the city landscape is still a mess of construction post quake, the hotel is fresh new and stunning.

Great rooms, modern.

Stunning friendly service! They went the extra mile.

We done. I will be back!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank dramaticAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear dramaticAuckland,

Your comments are received with great pleasure. Thank you for your fantastic rating. Our staff are our biggest asset and we are very proud of the excellent work they do each day.

I am very pleased to hear that you found us to be a fantastic hotel with great rooms and location.

Your continued support is very much appreciated and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I only stayed here 1 night and I found it very clean decent and chic. It is Located right next to the iconic Cathedral on Cathedral square, however the neighbourhood is very badly damaged due to the recent earthquake which struck twice in this city. It’s very quiet in the vicinity at night though. Breakfast is very good, and the breakfast room has a beautiful view of the Square. Lots of building repair works going on around the hotel, but as such this hotel is untouched by any damage. My room on the 11th floor had big space, and the bed was very comfortable. However I found it very strange that the basin was not inside the Bathroom area but outside of it. It looked a bit constricted to me. Even the bath-cubicle area has half a glass cover and so some water splashes outside the cubicle area too. What I liked was that the bath cubicle has an overhead shower as well as a hand shower. Typically the Novotel has very good quality amenities provided in the room. I do not remember seeing any bathrobes nor any slippers, but all-in-all it is a very comfortable hotel to stay. They do provide complimentary tea/coffee in the room though. The CBD location does gives it a good advantage for the business traveller.

Room Tip: any higher room it doesn't matter
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Poruse,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our new and chic hotel.

Our location is indeed unique and ideal as we gear up for the Christchurch re-build.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your continued support is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Please remember the CBD is no more. The cathedral is not the centre of city action any more. We still loved this hotel, the rooms are clean and fairly spacious and well appointed. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

However, ditto to the other comments about the weird sink area. The placement is just strange. The other thing is there is nowhere in the bathroom to leave dry clothes whilst showering. The good thing is there is lots of free parking on the adjoining empty building site if you don't mind driving over rubble.

As other people have commented you need to go quite far afield to find restaurants and supermarkets. The roads around the hotel are closed and opened randomly according to which buildings are being demolished. Taxis are no problems, self driving is a nightmare due to one way roads and road closures. Otherwise use the hotel restaurant.

Restart Mall is a 5 min walk which is worthwhile visiting, so is the restart exhibition, well worth $10. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you do t mind shakes from earthquakes go high up. If you are wary go further down. The good thing...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear KiwiCat1234,

Thank you for your excellent comments and rating following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to know that you loved our hotel and thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Your continued support is imperative to our region and I thank you for this.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Christchurch on a midnight flight. The hotel was easy enough to find, the only issues we had was the large amount of closed roads in the city - plenty of dead ends. The room was clean, modern, warm and quiet.

The only negative feedback I have is that the limited free wifi made it very difficult to find restaurants, shops etc and keep in touch with friends and family back home.

Overall a very pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KellHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear KellHay,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our success is based on your feedback and is therefore very important.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have your continued support.

I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I can't fault this place. One of only 2 places open that I could tell in the red zone. Really nice place, unfortunately there isn't much going on around but again very clean place, nice rooms, high class restaurant. Check out the surrounding artwork while christchurch spends the next decade or 2 rebuilding itself to it's former glory

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunnballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear lunnballs,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found us to be a great place to stay.

We too are eagerly waiting for businesses to re-open in centre city and are all geared up for it.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Nice greeting, and reset table to location we wanted.Wine waiter needs some education in the finesse in pouring and not banging bottle on the glass each time, and following up on needs. We had to go and find a them to buy a overpriced bottle at $45, with no choice of year , a very green wine was poured (banged)out, when next day it was $12 in the local Supermrkt,.the choice of plates was good, but the salmon on the noodle base was bland.
Service was always with a smile, from some young staff, and the cheese board was great.Closing at 11 on a Saturday night holiday weekend maybe reflects the quieter tone on CHCH noways

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KiwiKomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear KiwiKomments,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We firmly believe that there is always rooms for improvement and your feedback is imperative as it enables us to constantly better ourselves.

I have passed on your comments regarding the lack of training to our Restaurant and Bar Manager to action immediately. Thank you for drawing this to our attention.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $140 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing