We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Christchurch
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,235 results
Traveler rating
629
462
105
28
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
629
462
105
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bloody mary cardboard cathedral modern hotel conference facilities good size city centre buffet breakfast an easy walk mini bar hotel restaurant room was large nice stay free wifi reception staff quiet location new zealand comfortable rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,235 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was amazing place to stay. Clean, comfortable and close to CBD Christchurch. Free Parking. Customer service was great. We would always stay there when we come back to Christchurch. Walking distance to shopping and great Restaurants.

Room tip: Free Parking
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank greywallz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location for easy access to the city centre and attractions. Friendly staff, new modern hotel. Rooms spacious and clean with good facilities. Easy access from the airport. Taxi available for use at any time.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J7987XPchrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

You always expect chain hotels like this to be a bit impersonal, but the staff here were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The rooms are clean and there is enough room, and the bathrooms are well appointed. The beds are extremely comfortable- we slept better here than anywhere else in the month that we were travelling round.
Hotel gyms are never particularly wonderful, but this one had a decent enough selection of free weights and cardio machines (including a rower).
Would definitely return, good value.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N6814RKandrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

Have stayed here once before for a couple of days and had a great experience. Hence we decided to stay a little longer as part of our holiday, this time round (as a Priority Rewards member) our experience was very disappointing.

We booked for 5 nights, and have to say the servicing of our room each day was appalling. (Used coffee cups not cleaned daily, used wine glasses not cleaned overnight, no shampoo/conditioner replacements daily, no replacement toilet paper, and the final straw was a completely un-made bed after day 4.

Made visit to the duty manager, who told me they contract the cleaning out. Appears there is no supervision of the cleaning staff’s work once completed. We were told that our room would be given the top brass treatment and the servicing of it would be supervised by the cleaning contracts manager. Came back on our final day and the room was impeccable and exactly as one would expect from a hotel of this caliber.

Can’t help but think we wouldn’t have been the only ones who experienced such poor room servicing.

Ordered snacks (chips) from the restaurant and a cheese board. What we were supplied was also underwhelming. $8 for a bowl of chips and there must have been about a dozen chips in total. The cheese platter provided had too few crackers for the cheese supplied. When we asked for extra crackers, initially, we were advised we would have to pay extra for those.

So, needless to say, we did not dine there anymore after that. Chch has any fantastic eateries on offer that provide far better quality service and food than Rydges Chch.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WarrenT361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. The food was excellent, both room service and restaurant. Room was excellent. Fantastic bed, so comfortable. Would recommend. Staff were efficient and helpful. Restaurant staff very knowledgeable.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PamSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews