We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
Destinia.com
$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/02/21
Hotels.com$154
Priceline$154
Hotel Website$162
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveler rating
775
532
130
31
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
775
532
130
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bloody mary cardboard cathedral conference facilities city centre good size buffet breakfast mini bar an easy walk great stay excellent hotel hotel restaurant reception staff room was large comfortable rooms lovely room free wifi comfortable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
436 - 441 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2019 via mobile

Spent one night, on business. I was upgraded so can only comment on that upgraded room which was comfortable and a good size. Helpful, pleasant staff.
Disappointing that there was no coffee pot or machine, just sachets of instant coffee. These things let down New Zealand hotels compared to overseas equivalent grade hotels.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ColleeninNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latimer_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Hi ColleeninNZ

Thanks for the feedback and review and pleased you enjoyed the stay with us and we do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

So many negative experiences in this hotel. We were placed in a room closest to construction, so there was noise and a terrible view. The rooms are dated and the furniture old and tacky. There was minimal assistance from staff, very few who acknowledged our existence. We were only there for a couple of nights and there was no assistance in regards to local attractions - we figured it out ourselves. We headed down for breakfast, which was an experience unto itself (again - not positive), and come at a cost of over $100 for the family, so propose that you go to a local cafe. On a positive, we had dinner at the restaurant, which was beautiful food, and the service was great. Unfortunately, overall, our experience was not positive at all - if you are a family, would propose there are family friendly places that are more suitable.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kazdaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latimer_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Hi kazdaz007

Thanks for the feedback and sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. The staff are always on hand to assist if required and apologies if this was not the impression that you received. We do have some construction on at the moment and apologies that this also impacted your stay - even though we are only 5 years old we look forward to bringing some more brand new rooms to Christchurch.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

Very good room comfortable clean and a great bed,very good restaurant ,outstanding evening meal and good breakfast,was very shocked at $13 for a glass of Heineken at the bar ! would probably recommend a few pre-dinner drinks else where before dining .

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonyckiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latimer_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Hi tonyckiwi

Appreciate the feedback and review of the Hotel and so pleased you enjoyed the stay with us.

Kind Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

Staff, rooms etc were as expected for a Rydges Hotel
Disappointed with the fact that my granddaughter and I had breakfast in the dining room in the morning and paid for a full breakfast each only to learn on checkout that as she ordered a cheese omelette I was charged an additional $6.00. My granddaughter (8 yrs) had no other food except the omelette and I have never encountered a Rydges Hotel in Australia charging extra for an omelette.
Otherwise our stay was most enjoyable.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latimer_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Hi PauMurphy

Thanks for the review and feedback. Sorry to read of the issues re the omelette and seems like we could have explained this better at the time and my apologies for this issue. Pleased to read that the rest of the stay was enjoyable and I do hope we have the chance to welcome you to the Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

What an amazing place ! We had a great room that was clean tidy and outstanding value for money. We would highly recommend staying here and we will definitely stay here next time. The meal from the restaurant below was to die for ! I ate my body weight in the most amazing food, the service was great as well as the atmosphere. Really can’t wait to come back !

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danbil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latimer_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Hi danbil7

Wow, it sure sounds like you had a great stay and so pleased to read that the team were able to look after you. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews