We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Ranked #9 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Recently we had the pleasure of staying @ the Rydges overnight. Having worked previously in hospitality, my expectations are high from all areas of any hotel. We enjoyed a meal with friends in the "Bloody Mary" restaurant and then attended a concert upstairs in the ballroom, in the same venue. The bedroom was very nicely presented and we had a great sleep. We enjoyed the ambience, the peacefulness of the hotel and the discreetness of the well-trained staff appearing only when required. All the staff were excellent from check in through to checkout. Harry in the dining room was especially courteous and helpful during our meal. We will be back for another stay soon, and will happily recommend this venue for all sorts of events and get away's. Thanks for the mini-break!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom and Kriste... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We love to see our locals spoiling themselves and even more so when it is with us! Thanks for your feedback, especially your comments about Harry, we'll give him a little something for getting a mention! Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 689 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

room, reception - excellent.
restaurant - can see where they want to be and will get there I'm sure.
reality is the service was a joke. we laughed and eventually got more cutlery (but no serviettes) after our entrees were cleared after the main was served to the still cluttered table.
No beer we wanted and she said she would return, she did not.
The food Ok for a pub and not good for the prices we paid.
My smoked mushroom burger was bitter from too much smoke or wrong ingredient used to smoke. Did they come to ask? No....
We had no contact with another human till I paid.
Would go back as these are teething issues and I am sure will be resolved as the overall presentation of the hotel was very good.

Room Tip: eat out till they get their service team into a team
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameshart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thanks for your feedback James, its sounds like we had a real shocker looking after your table in the Brasserie. We certainly appreciate you putting it down to teething issues but we're a little past that. Our team needs a little more training and that's exactly what they will get. I'm confident, as it sounds like you are too, that we can get it together. as you can see from past reviews it is out of character.
However, it's awesome to hear you enjoyed the room and our reception team impressed. Hopefully we will get it all together next time around.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stay with Rydges Latimer during my road trip to the south. its very short stay but really impress with the hotel rooms and familities. Hotel situated at prime location and includes free and secure parking as hotel is new you can see all modern facilities with advance technology. One more thing I like about hotel is instead of long building they cover more area and made flat building, as Christchurch is earthquake zone people with earthquake phobia may feel more secure. GSA on desk was very polite and helpful. Hotel has nice restaurant and gym as well. Really enjoyed one night stay here, definitely stay again if travel down south.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anand2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay Anand. When it comes to the new engineering standards, Rydges Latimer couldn't be any higher- we are 100% compliant. We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and facilities and that the team on reception made a good impression. I'll be sure to pass on your remarks.
Regards,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is new and modern. It's low rise with large rooms and tasteful decor. The location is good and the staff were all friendly and helpful. We had drinks in the bar and breakfast in the restaurant. I would definately recommend Rydges Christchurch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thanks for your review Jody, glad you got to enjoy the full Rydges Latimer experience and thanks also for sharing your experience with others!
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was a great find thanks to previous positive reviews from the Trip Advisor community. The hotel is fresh, modern, with lovely comfortable rooms, and trendy reception spaces. The staff were very helpful, and it was a really great stay! There's plenty of free parking, and hotel is close to the CBD. I'd stay again in a heartbeat. Sadly we didn't get to use the gorgeous bar and brasserie but it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We love being a 'Must do,' thanks for saying so! More importantly, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future and you get give Bloody Mary's a taste!
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very good hotel right in centre next to the cardboard Cathedral. Service superb, reception booked us tours and helped with our check in for flight onward so Queenstown. The room was very comfortable and there is a Brasserie and a restaurant serving excellent food. Sadly there was no gym or pool despite advertising but was offered use of them at hotel nearby.
We decided to cut our stay by one day due to lack of things to do as the earthquake has devastated the town and the hotel were accommodating and even booked us at a Rydges in Queenstown for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thanks for the review Moosie. Sorry to hear you cut your stay short but we're glad you stopped by all the same. Glad to hear our team hit the mark with their service, I'll be sure to pass on your remarks. I'm a little confused about the gym and pool. The gym was delayed in opening but has been operational for a couple of months now. We certainly don't have a pool though and wouldn't send you to a competitor (that would be silly!). Thanks again, we hope you enjoyed your onward journey.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good value in the 2 bedroom apartments , not normally available in the City Hotels .Good food in the Hotels restaurant & at the bar. Do not forget join the Priorities Loyalty program for discounts.Very friendly attentive staff. Only thing lacking was International channels on the TV . A short walk through the CBD to the Museum & Botanical Gardens. The CBD is being rebuilt but do shop at Ballantynes & in the Mall to support the local business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dang2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Some great tips here for staying at Rydges Latimer and making the most of Christchurch. We love to hear from guests such as yourself getting out and supporting our locals. There's still plenty of work to do but its so exciting to be apart of the rebuild and what will be a fantastic new Christchurch.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,391 reviews
1.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Latimer Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Latimer Christchurch

Address: 30 Latimer Square, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $121 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Latimer Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Latimer Christchurch overlooks scenic Latimer Square, in the heart of the city. Newly built 100% compliant to new building standards and opened in 2013 this 4.5 star hotel is five levels high and offers 138 accommodation rooms spread over the first four floors. The fifth floor boasts a penthouse apartment with breathtaking views stretching from the Port Hills to the Southern Alps. Premier conference and event facilities with 11 flexible spaces housing up to 500 delegates. All spaces are flooded with natural light, integrated audio visual equipment, exceptional menu options and a dedicated team of conference professionals is on had to assist in the planning and facilitation. Located on the ground floor is Bloody Mary's Bar-Lounge-Grill, a premium steakhouse featuring some of the finest locally sourced ingredients from right here in Canterbury. New York steakhouse meets Kiwi hospitality for a true beef lover’s dream. You will be eager to ‘steak’ your claim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Latimer Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing