We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, filthy, out-dated, freezing, tired! 4.5 stars - what a joke!!”
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Christchurch
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This place was a dive!!! Where do I start... Paint peeling on the ceiling in the shower, unclean, dining room table still had spilt coffee marks on it, milk left in the fridge from the previous guests, heating was insuffient - oil heater you had to plug in, or tiny fan heater, NO ducted heating, or heat pump!! The on- the-wall heater was soo old it couldn't heat the room, the curtains were so old and were torn, carpets were old and rippling, no tv in the bedroom, pedestal fans for cooling? Stains down the walls. We ended up staying one night (while we organised another hotel) of our 2 week holiday and had to leave. We had also negoitated a long stay rate as we had been staying at another quest prior to Christchurch and once we said we could not stay there any longer, they charged us the higher rate. Very unprofessional!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 424 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

Travelling with four adults and two young children, we decided to try out the Quest's 3-bedroom apartment. It was a good choice.

The apartment itself was huge, with three large bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, a good kitchen and spacious living areas. It was an interesting novelty having an apartment over two levels - this may be an issue for people with problems climbing stairs.

Furnishings were excellent and there was a wide selection of television. There was no WiFi, but cable connected internet was speedy.

Location is good, within walking distance of anything in the city centre. There are some godo restuarant choices in the immediate area.

Service is as you expect from Quest - friendly, but definitely not that of a hotel. These apartments are for more independent travellers who are looking for a bit more space and none of the frills of 5 star travel.

There was a little city noise in the evening.

Overall, a really good choice in Christchurch and a hotel I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This is a great location to stay in Christchurch, right in the centre, cloe to everything! The rooms are large and well kept. A great stay thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a balcony for two nights and was pleasantly surprised with how comfortable the room was. This self-contained kitchen and laundry was a real plus and I was able to have 3 friends around for a small dinner party before we headed out for a night on the town. The location of this hotel is great...it sits very handily behind the Christchurch Cathedral Square and is adjacent to an atrium that also doubles as a Tram pick-up and drop-off point. I am a good sleeper so I didnt really notice the early morning Tram movements as mentioned in many other reviews despite only being on the 3rd floor and my balcony looking directly over the atrium. I didnt even mind the number of doors you had to unlock to access your room! I think as a paranoid, security conscious traveller I found that aspect quite comforting. The bathroom was sparkly clean and the water pressure in the shower was great! The service was fantastic and the receptionist informed me when I checked in that due to it being ANZAC weekend my room would not be serviced on the sunday so she provided me with extra towels and soaps etc. I have not had positive historical experiences with Quest hotel apartments in other parts of the country so this was a refreshing experience and I will definitely go back again if the price remains as reasonable as it was at that time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QJB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Trying to figure this place out is rather like Alice down the rabbit hole. Reception is in one place, you find an alley half a block away to park your car and your room is above the separate annex which is actually a glass ceilinged edifice through which the city trams run. Your entrance to your elevator is a partly hidden door just past the tram shop in the annex. On Saturday night a tram with a restaurant on board stopped right below our room in the annex and all aboard enjoyed a jolly good time.
On the positive side this hotel couldn't be more central being almost literally in Cathedral Square. And, despite the first paragraph, the hotel was pretty darn good. An apartment hotel, we had lots of room, a good size kitchen and all the usual amenities. When we couldn't face another big dinner out we were quite able to prepare something modest in our room. We took the free bus down to the supermarket to get provisions. We were able to get caught up on the washing and ironing. The hotel is very well located for many of the city's restaurants and attractions. We were comfortable, not too disturbed by the downtown noise and generally pleased with the Quest. It was a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The Quest was our first spot to stay in the South Island. We were a little apprehensive after staying in Rotorua and Wellington but the Quest Christchurch came shining through! Thanks to Kirk, the receptionist for her over and above customer service. We were the recipients of a fantastic night sleep, great bed, huge lounge, and QUIET!! Amazing given that we were in the central hub of Christchurch. Facilities great, space!!!! what a change, service with a smile! So much so....our last night on the South Island has been re-booked here. Would absolutely recommend for a a quiet and restful night sleep, huge balcony (a balcony is a must for us). Large room so you are not tripping over each other or cases in the middle of the night that are at the foot of your bed. Want central city - quiet and spacious? This is the one!!! Big 5 tick from us...!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenix1442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Like some other reviewers,we booked an "apartment" here and were really disappointed with the room. Expectations were set that there would be a kitchenette but what we got was a fairly basic hotel room with a kettle and fridge so self-catering is not really an option. Worse though was the night's sleep we got and the service we have subsequently received. Yes, the hotel is in a great central location but the rooms overlook the tramline and a construction site so we didn't sleep well as there is ZERO soundproofing. When we mentioned this at reception the next day, they said it shouldn't matter because the trams only run 8am to 10pm...they had no answer to the fact that construction started at 6.30am!! We asked for a discount but because we had pre-paid this couldn't be given without the manager (who was not around). The receptionist waived our car parking fee and gave us the manager's email details to make a further complaint/ request for refund. We sent an email a day or two later and nearly a month later are still awaiting a reply. In the Trip Advisor era I'm surprised that a hotel manager could care so little about a bad experience and will definitely not be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,994 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
943 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Address: 113 Worcester Street | Cathedral Junction, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $93 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Christchurch 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing