We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, great value, super staff”
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quest Christchurch
Ranked #16 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central, great value, super staff”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is Glynis from Kapiti 4 Seasons Tours, our senior group took Scenic Train to Christchurch and stayed three nights April 29th thru to May 2nd 2014 at The Quest... we have been so busy this review is a bit later than intended... WHY does it say currently closed??? in the title?

Great location as the Tram arcade is next door with a very short walk to the quaint New Regent Street only minutes away. The Old Cathedral Square is minutes in the other direction (very sad site).BUT Christchurch with so many buildings missing is showing a positive attitude with many areas now parks and places for people to relax and reflect on the FUTURE...

Everything is close to The Quest, GREAT location. SUPER knowledgeable, friendly staff...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwiconnection2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    186
    64
    7
    9
See reviews for
93
178
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a 9 month old in the apartment. Had a lovely stay, kitchen is well equipped to make how own small meals. Great location - walking distance to most places. Shame about the rebuilding all around Christchurch but there isn't much that you can do about that! Recommend.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SherifMansour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had a very pleasant stay in the middle of town. Close to shopping, tram line, fairly quiet rooms. Good beds (we like firm mattresses) and faultless room amenities and services. We arrived at 2 a.m. and our after-hours instructions to check-in were easy and worked well. So stay here worry-free, and good luck to ChCh in rebuilding!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hidey-holer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Located in the middle of town and close to everything to see in Christchurch. The place was renovated following the earthquake and has been mad earthquake proof. The rooms are clean and comfortable and good value. There are numerous restaurants in the vicinity including an Irish Pub, numerous asian and the Casino. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjjswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Good central location right on the tram line.
no frills but all you need and clean and modern fitting
helpful reception we only had 2 days as we wanted to check out Christchurch after the earthquakes as we had been there 12 years ago.

Room Tip: go to christchurch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Quest is open again.

We rented a one bedroom apartment for two days. I had a lovely stay in the spacious apartment. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. There was a tv with a wide selection of movies that can be watched for free. Would recommend moving the TV closer to the sofa since it's a 20+ inch LCD tv.

There's a working kitchen with all the utensils you need for cooking. The spatula was broken though, the handle kept coming off as I cooked. There's also a dish washer, and a dish-washing brush that had obvious moldy spots on it. But no matter, the dish washer worked fine.

The other thing I appreciated was the washing machine/dryer in the apartment. It was the end of our trip, so we could do all our laundry and not have to worry about it when we got back. :)

The service was friendly and helpful.

The location is great, a short walk from most attractions such as the Cardboard Cathedral, Re:Start Mall and the Botanic Gardens. Groceries can also be bought about 10 mins walk away.

Enjoyed my stay, would return again. But get a higher room because the 2nd and 3rd floor balconies look into a glass roof.

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom apartment to enjoy the comforts of home and a higher floor if you prefer to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Accommodation is still at a premium in Christchurch post the earth quakes, you generally have to book weeks in advance to secure your normal preference. I was required to take a business trip at fairly short notice and was booked into the Quest Christchurch "Serviced Apartments" and was given a "Studio Apartment". Unfortunately the Studios are nothing more than a slightly oversized hotel room and do not really have a kitchenette... this wouldn't be a problem if there is a restaurant on site but there isn't and there isn't really any options nearby either. In fact, upon checkin at around 7pm on a Tuesday evening I asked the receptionist if she could recommend somewhere to grab a quick bite to eat. She pondered for a moment and then told me "Well, Calendar Girls is right over there". Calendar Girls is a strip club and whilst I'm all for supporting struggling university students and single mothers, I'm pretty sure strip clubs don't serve actual meals. So if you are wanting to eat while staying at Quest, I suggest you book nothing less than a 1 brm apartment, or be prepared to drive across the CBD (navigating all the one way streets and detours). Aside from that the rooms are fairly basic, firm bed, sparsely furnished and the windows are NOT double glazed meaning you will get road noise... and construction noise from 6am.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Property: Quest Christchurch
Address: 113 Worcester Street | Cathedral Junction, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Christchurch 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing