We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, very central accommodation”
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Christchurch
Ranked #16 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, very central accommodation”
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed in their 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for two nights in March 2008, and were impressed. The location couldn’t be bettered – right in the city centre, yet easy to get to and with secure parking in the basement. The entrance may not be grand, but once inside, the accommodation is good. The main living area is very generous in size and well furnished. The kitchen and laundry areas have everything you could possibly need, and essential breakfast supplies are provided. We only used two of the three bedrooms, but both were comfortable, of a decent size and with enough storage space. The third bedroom is smaller, but looked adequate. Both bathrooms were fine, and everything was spotlessly clean. At $351 per night plus $12 for car parking, for such a central location we felt it was good value for 4 people and would have been excellent value for 6. If we were visiting Christchurch again, we would have no hesitation in going back.

Four points to note. First, the penthouse apartment is on two floors and the bedrooms are upstairs with no lift, so be prepared to carry your suitcases up. Second, the bathrooms are on the same floor as the bedrooms but are not strictly en suite, as claimed on their web site. Further, there is only one toilet on this floor (in one of the bathrooms), but there is a second toilet downstairs. Third, there are balconies on both floors, but don’t expect too much of the views! Finally, our comments apply to the penthouse suite. We are not able to say whether the other rooms are equally good.

  • Liked — Location, spaciousness
  • Disliked — Poky entrance
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank P_and_T_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    190
    66
    7
    10
See reviews for
96
183
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

This property is great in terms of the location - right in the heart of Cathedral Square. Easy to hop on/off the tram and also to walk to most of the main sights. Found the bed to be extremely uncomfortable however and it was very noisy with the tram starting up at around 7am right outside our room. You also get a lot of noise with doors opening and closing from neighbouring rooms. Not that great if you want a good comfortable and peaceful sleep (especially after arriving off a late night flight). Staff are helpful and there is a free internet service in the reception area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyLouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Located right on Cathedral Square in the centre of Christchurch, Quest combined the best bits of hotel living with the homeliness of a real flat. The room was enormous, with a huge open plan kitchen-dining room-lounge and separate bedroom. It included a washing machine and dishwasher in the kitchen and felt like a proper apartment.
The tram also stops just outside the hotel and is a nice way to see the city.

  • Liked — It felt very home-like
  • Disliked — Awkward to access due to security doors.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2008

After reading all the good reviews on here, we were very disappointed with the Quest! While we couldn't fault the location or the service, the room itself was very ordinary. Perhaps it was because we had stayed in such fantastic accommodation our whole trip, but it seemed that they could definitely do better.

The best way I could describe the room is gray, drab and depressing! The bathroom was very small and awkward, the kitchenette was very sparingly stocked, and the room was very plain. They honestly need add a splash of color, and perhaps update the furnishings. Also, I wouldn't get too excited about the continental breakfast they stock, unless you enjoy kids sugary cereals and white bread for breakfast.

One thing that really drove us crazy was the number of doors we had to unlock to get into our room... I think it was about 3!

The hotel will do the job if you're just passing through Christchurch but if you're there for a few nights, I would look somewhere else. Nothing exactly wrong, but nothing exactly right either.

  • Liked — The location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The very ordinary room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carousel266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2008

My recent stay at Quest, Christchurch was wonderful. Unit was large, very comfortable and in a great location. The Manager, Ken, bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. Highly recommended!
Kay - Dianella - Western Australia

  • Liked — COMFORTABLE AND SPACIOUS
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARALUNDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We stayed here four 4 nights in a 2 bed apartment with 4 adults.
This is a no frills but clean and comfortable serviced apartment operation. Modern furnishings( think Ikea.) The lounge and dining area was large and there was a full kitchen,also a small laundry with washer dryer.

My dislikes were a noisy fridge, only one small bathroom and no air conditioning. The bedrooms have a strange set up where they have no external windows but have a strip window into the living area. They are also quite small.

The front desk staff were friendly and there is free Internet access in the foyer. Also parking is available for $10 per day

Overall a comfortable clean and well located property but nothing to write home about

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Having been travelling now for 3 months we have seen a huge mix of excellent, good & bad. These Quest apts really did score in the excellent category for us. We stayed for 3 nights in January & would return there without hesitation. The rooms are very clean, functional & well looked after. The little extras they provide (ie washing powder, washing up liquid etc) were much appreciated & something that we have found to be missing in alot of places. The reception staff were super friendly & capable ( in comparison to Australia we have really found New Zealand to be much friendlier & customer orientated).

  • Liked — Value, location & really good value in room internet connection
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Glasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,835 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 145 in Christchurch
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
1,822 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Property: Quest Christchurch
Address: 113 Worcester Street | Cathedral Junction, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Christchurch 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing