We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest Christchurch
Nearby Hotels
$118
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
$106
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$199
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
$96
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$121
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Classic Villa(Christchurch)
$143
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arena Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camelot Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$89
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montreal(Christchurch)
$208
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
153
220
75
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
220
75
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral squaregreat locationtram stopeast wingone bedroom apartmentwashing machinecentral locationper daythese apartmentsapartment was cleanregent streetconvenience storesecure parkingwalking distanceserviced dailyafter hoursfree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 468 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2008

After reading all the good reviews on here, we were very disappointed with the Quest! While we couldn't fault the location or the service, the room itself was very ordinary. Perhaps it was because we had stayed in such fantastic accommodation our whole trip, but it seemed that they could definitely do better.

The best way I could describe the room is gray, drab and depressing! The bathroom was very small and awkward, the kitchenette was very sparingly stocked, and the room was very plain. They honestly need add a splash of color, and perhaps update the furnishings. Also, I wouldn't get too excited about the continental breakfast they stock, unless you enjoy kids sugary cereals and white bread for breakfast.

One thing that really drove us crazy was the number of doors we had to unlock to get into our room... I think it was about 3!

The hotel will do the job if you're just passing through Christchurch but if you're there for a few nights, I would look somewhere else. Nothing exactly wrong, but nothing exactly right either.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carousel266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

My recent stay at Quest, Christchurch was wonderful. Unit was large, very comfortable and in a great location. The Manager, Ken, bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. Highly recommended!
Kay - Dianella - Western Australia

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KARALUNDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We stayed here four 4 nights in a 2 bed apartment with 4 adults.
This is a no frills but clean and comfortable serviced apartment operation. Modern furnishings( think Ikea.) The lounge and dining area was large and there was a full kitchen,also a small laundry with washer dryer.

My dislikes were a noisy fridge, only one small bathroom and no air conditioning. The bedrooms have a strange set up where they have no external windows but have a strip window into the living area. They are also quite small.

The front desk staff were friendly and there is free Internet access in the foyer. Also parking is available for $10 per day

Overall a comfortable clean and well located property but nothing to write home about

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank Sydneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Having been travelling now for 3 months we have seen a huge mix of excellent, good & bad. These Quest apts really did score in the excellent category for us. We stayed for 3 nights in January & would return there without hesitation. The rooms are very clean, functional & well looked after. The little extras they provide (ie washing powder, washing up liquid etc) were much appreciated & something that we have found to be missing in alot of places. The reception staff were super friendly & capable ( in comparison to Australia we have really found New Zealand to be much friendlier & customer orientated).

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Glasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

We had high expectations of Quest Christchurch after reading all the reviews so perhaps we were expecting a bit too much of them, however we really didnt enjoy our stay there.
The location is amazing, right next to the tram stop, centre of christchurch next to the square - perfectly located for tourists.
Internet was very cheap - $40/week which works out to a very reasonable rate if you are staying a few days.
The rooms are clean & functional but not of great quality & are looking a bit older nowadays. The bathroom is once again clean & nicely built for a hotel but very small. The washer/dryer combo was fantastic after travelling around with a suitcase of dirty clothes & i think they provided washing powder which many other places dont.
The breakfast is really nothing much - a few slices of bread in a glad bag, butter & jams & some milk/OJ - but it is lovely to have fresh milk.
Our first room (12A) was on the first floor & the noise of the tram, and the noise of people above us kept us up for 2 nights straight. We requested a transfer for the third night which wasted most of the day constantly popping back in to see if the new room was ready (my favourite reception quote ' the last people left it really dirty so housekeeping have a lot of work to do' - not what you want to hear as a guest!). The next room was an improvement in terms of less noise.
All the receptionists seem quite young & inexperienced (although to be fair all over NZ & Aust there is lack of available staff) but were friendly & got the job done.
The aforementioned bathroom fan that turns off 1 min after the lights drove us mad like everyone else!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lauren&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews