We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Christchurch
Save
  
Ways to Experience Cardboard Cathedral
from $224.60
More Info
from $147.39
More Info
Reviews (2,206)
Filter reviews
2,206 results
Traveler rating
1,102
775
262
37
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,102
775
262
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stained glass temporary structure amazing structure interesting building shipping containers worth a visit white chairs city centre new zealand worship architect choir earthquake volunteers material tubes congregation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,206 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After the earthquake in 2011, where the 'old' cathedral collapsed, a Japanese architect designed this transitional place of worship.
80% made from recycled cardboard, even the huge cross.
A must-see!!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank jobst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The church looks fabulous at night, has a fabulous history, and is made of environmentally friendly, low-cost materials.

Date of experience: January 2020
23  Thank InnaYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This temporary cathedral, made of light-weight, inexpensive materials, was built to replace the former destroyed by a 2011 earthquake. It has become a major tourist attraction of Christchurch. Simple architecture and beauty, and heavenly history.

Date of experience: January 2020
84  Thank KodoDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I thought it would be a good idea to take the family to the New Christchurch Cathedral while we were in town so they could see what had been created in place of the wonderful old Cathedral after the tragic earthquake damage. It looked quite nice from outside so we decided to see what it looked like from the inside. We were stopped at the door and told that we cannot enter unless we intend on Paying to enter. Now Ive been to a lot of church's in a lot of different country's but this is a first for me. It wasn't a large amount that they asked $5 per person, But I had never come across this before. Needless to say that was the end of our visit. I thought maybe it was just me that had it wrong so we stayed for a bit and watched other people all having the same reaction. Its a sad day if this is the new way.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank kerryh705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The day I went, the place was buzzing. Good in one way - lots of visitors curious about the building and asking questions of the many volunteers, but not so good if you are seeking solitude and prayer. Perhaps people could be made aware that it is still a place of worship? Cathedral is not exactly built of 'cardboard' - internal beams are wrapped in it, stained glass (copy laminated) windows (gorgeous) are stunning. Still has lovely atmosphere and good to see the people visiting. Photos inside are OK. Just a couple of blocks walk from the original square. Shop at entrance, funds raised for re-building of original cathedral.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews