We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ashley Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Annabelle Court Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lorenzo Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Park Lodge(Canterbury Region)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aalton Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Tree Lodge(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hagley Park Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkview on Hagley(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
16
65
76
33
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
65
76
33
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa ground floor roomwell located hotelwestfield shopping centrebotanical gardensbit datedfree wifinight's sleepshuttle busenjoyed my stayshort stayhire carlong flightstayed here for one nightcentral christchurch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 200 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is on the outskirts of the central area. What was nice about it was not only the pleasantness of the staff, but the ease at which you could walk across the park into the central area of Christchurch. There are local food and shop outlets which make it handy as well, given the limited food opportunities currently available in the centre of earthquake damaged Christchurch. It is also within easy striking distance of the airport, the campervan rental homes and the train station for those wanting to go on the Transalpine trains.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our location. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our staff members and I will surely pass this on. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ashley Hotel should your travels bring you back to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good location near the Park. Could walk to downtown and botanical gardens. Lots of restaurants and even a mall with in walking distance. Hotel was clean,good bed and free wifi. The staff was helpful and friendly. Not fancy and no elevators.

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor on the end. However it was very Quiet there.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our location, cleanliness and bed quality. We appreciate your recommendation to other travelers and we look forward to seeing you again at the The Ashley Hotel on your next visit to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in January 2013. It was decently spacious, and the bathroom was good size and clean. However, the room basically has one wall that is completely glass, including the glass door room entry (some may like this). Besides this, the room has no opening to the outside (one window which does not open more than an inch or two). During the summer it gets extremely hot and suffocating due to something very obvious known as the "green house effect". The sun is directly on the glass wall and there is no fan, no ventilation inside the room. It was hot and extremely suffocating during our stay. And since we were on the ground floor, our main door and glass window-wall was right at the parking lot and hotel entrance, due to which we could not leave the room door open for too long (there will be no privacy if you do so). Its like everyone can see whats happening in your room if you decide to open the curtains or get some air to breathe!!! We also asked for a fan at the reception, but the lady told us they were out of them! The breakfast too was poor, and had no option for cooked breakfast. I guess this is a norm for hotels in Christchurch (another hotel had a similar breakfast range), compared to the rest of the hotels across the country that offered amazing cooked breakfast!
Besides this, the hotel room is spacious, location is good, good parking space. Might be a good option for stay in cooler months.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors, maybe then it wont be as unpleasant to leave the entry door open for a while.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do apologize for your discomfort during your stay. We now have more fans available at reception and understand it was during a heatwave Christchurch experienced. Thank you for your comments about our room space, location and good parking. Once again thank you for your feedback and your comments will go a long way to improve future guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hi its an average hotel,only good for one night if you need to catch a early morning flight.
I didnt like the food nor the glass doors covered with only a curtain.
I feel a normal wooden door would have been better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RahulBhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize we did not meet your expectations and take your comments on board. Our sliding glass doors with curtains are intended to give our guests a more open experience with privacy also being available when needed, we are sorry you did not find this to your comfort. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We Stayed for a night on the 16th Feb .We found the staff friendly and the train running behind the complex entertaining but what I didn't find fun was the continuous noise. At 130am a large bus pulled up in front of our unit and then the Chinese new year holiday makers proceeded to sequel loudly and talk like they where at a market place then bus continued to open and close the luggage compartment slamming the door he ended it by reversing back with loud reversing beepers .Now I know this isn't the owners fault but they have a massive parking area as you enter the complex and they could have made them walk out to the entrance and be picked up there thus not waking every one up

But that would make to much sense never again for me

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We thank you for your comments about our staff friendliness and I will pass this on to our reception team. We sincerely apologize for the noise encountered early in the morning. Unfortunately there was no information given regarding this group coming back late and if we did know we would have definitely attended to this issue. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews