We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably bad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
Ranked #129 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Ciutadella
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unbelievably bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful which was the only redeeming feature of this hotel. The room was basic but clean enough, bathroom very dated. There is no lift and there was no porter available when we left at 8am so we had to carry our suitcases from the second floor. The room has full length patio doors facing onto the walkway to other rooms but there is no privacy, the privacy curtains are attached to the normal curtains and cannot be closed separately so you either have to sit in a goldfish bowl or sit in the dark. We were in a group of 48 pre booked you would have thought they could have stocked the bar in anticipation but there was hardly anything in there, a few bottles of beer which soon ran out and a few bottles of wine and spirits. One of our group wanted wine was told he would have to wait as they had run out of wine glasses!. There was not room to sit our party together for our farewell dinner and the food was awful, cold soup which had been put on the tables before we even sat down and two choices of gooey stuff reminiscent of bad school dinners. Even the fruit salad was horrible and the breakfast- only continental available pre 8am - was very basic just toast and some cold meat and cheese. SOme members of our group had booked to stay more than one night but promptly made other arrangements when they saw what it was like. It was very noisy near the train line. I know hotel choice in Christchurch is limited after the earthquake but the issue of the curtains and stocking the bar are well within their control. A very disappointing end to our trip to New Zealand.

Room Tip: Ground floor unless you like heaving bags up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest, We apologize we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all feedback and your issues raised will be investigated and rectified where appropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    57
    68
    29
    9
See reviews for
14
101
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week. Well-maintained, nicely decorated unit in a modern complex. Convenient location for Riccarton restaurants, bars and shopping mall, as well as Hagley Park and botanical gardens. Twenty minute walk to hospital. Breakfast can be purchased separately, but I always wandered out to the nearby cafe's, so can't comment on its value for money or quality.

Found the staff on reception very friendly and helpful, and subsequent to my stay when there was a problem with an error on my credit card, this was all sorted very satisfactorily and efficiently with no fuss or hassle.

The only slight frustration was the wi-fi access which is provided free, but with a 6-hour time limited password ticket from reception. This is clearly to prevent abuse of the free wi-fi, and the reception staff were quite happy to issue new tickets on request. A minor inconvenience only, and considering the wi-fi was free, really not an issue.

All in all, this was a pleasant and friendly place to stay, in a convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HorseJGoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your time taken to leave your comments. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Request a ground floor as no lifts. I can only imagine people hauling their bags up the stairs.
You are under the flight path and beside the train line. We didn't know whether to duck or run when we heard the train.
Walk to Westfield and coffee shops.
Room was clean, tidy & modern.
We did not have breakfast here and they did not serve dinner.
Free wifi, just ask.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CNDAV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your comments go a long way to improve future guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel mainly due to it's location in Christchurch. It resembles more of a motel than a hotel with each room having a glass sliding door and being accessible from outside (this isn't a bad thing though). That being said the room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and the continental breakfast in the morning was surprisingly good. I'd really recommend this place if you needed somewhere to stay whilst passing through Christchurch or if you were staying on business.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Rhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Friendly staff, clean compact room, but would rate this more of a motel than a hotel and it is extremely noisy. Good location but appears to be near an industrial area with trucks and trains nearby, and because of the layout of the hotel (rooms on both sides with reception and carpark area in the middle) you can hear everyone coming and going. To make it worse we ended up with a bus load of tourists parking right in front of our room late at night with the bus engine running for quite a while. It was so loud that the windows rattled, and the tourists were also talking very loudly without any consideration to other guests. We did say something but were ignored. There is also no lift to get to the top floors so you can hear people walking up and down the stairs all the time.

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs and ask for a quite room away from the main reception/carpark area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

5 nights here. Nice modern room, excellent free wifi. Helpful staff. Bathroom not quite up to the same standard as the main room but did the job. Close to many restaurants and shops. Good parking. Bit of a trek to 3rd floor outside when wet. No lifts. Basic breakfast was quite pricey though. The Ashley suited my needs and I would come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZL408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback goes a long way to improve future guest experience. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ashley for one evening before travelling to Queenstown. We were greeted by a friendly efficient young lady who did everything to assist in our check in. Our room was basic but very clean and comfortable with adequate facilities for a pleasant stay. Checkout was again friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livestats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. We are glad to see our high standards of customer service were of no exception to your stay. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#83 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#97 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#67 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Towers on the Park
Towers on the Park
#28 of 139 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#18 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Property: The Ashley Hotel
Address: 106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel Christchurch is a newly refurbished, 45-room hotel that delivers a charming, relaxed and convenient experience. The Ashley Hotel is located in Riccarton, within walking distance of Hagley Park, shopping malls, dozens of restaurants and cafés, Christchurch Hospital, the train station and plenty of other Christchurch attractions. We offer several different Christchurch hotel room types, perfect whether you are visiting for business, holiday or as part of a group. For your convenience, The Ashley Hotel also has disabled facilities. Whatever your reason for visiting Christchurch, enjoy it in comfort and style at The Ashley Hotel Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing