We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing negative to say.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing negative to say.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well decorated and very clean in a great location. Our room wasn't huge but with only 2 people you really don't need anything more. There are a lot of facilities provided - tea, coffee, hairdryer, iron etc. All the staff are very nice, friendly and, helpful. If we're back in Christchurch we will stay here again. Neither of us can think of anything bad to say about the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Katie,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Hotel 115. I'm glad are staff were helpful and hope they made you feel welcome. I'm happy that you did use all our facilities and enjoyed your stay with us. We would be happy to have you stay again with us again
Thanking you Sarah Niu, Hotel 115 General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    131
    46
    28
    26
See reviews for
33
195
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We got to the hotel at 1:30 a.m. from the airport and the reception was closed, there was a sign on the outside of the door with a phone number to call. We are from U. S. A. with no cell phone that worked there. After 15 minutes of panic, a guest came by and let us in and called the owner to come down. Also the air conditioning temperature is controlled by the owner, being the same for all the rooms. It was a little warm, lucky we had cool weather outside and opened the windows. The girl at the front desk was very helpful with directions. The trolley runs through the building and it rumbles in the room. We stayed at the beginning of February.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review on Hotel 115,
I'm glad you found our staff helpful, im sorry that the tram rumbled your room, we haven't had any other complaints from people who have stayed in the room that you were in. But we will be sure to keep an eye on the tram and if this is a reoccurring issue we will be sure that the issue is solved.
In Regards to checking in late, all websites do state and travel agents that the reception closes at 10pm and that you do need to let us know if you are a late arrival. I'm sorry that that information was not passed onto you and glad that a guest was kind enough to help you. I hope that apart from these issues you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand and would love for you to stay with us again
Thanking you, Sarah Niu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, our room wasn't massive but was really nicely decorated. The whole hotel is really nicely designed, is in a cool location with the trams running by, and really handy for walking to the main attractions of Christchurch. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jodiekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
177sarahn, Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Jodie,
Thank you for your lovely review on Hotel 115, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us we enjoyed having you here.
Thanking you Sarah Niu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed at Hotel 115 in January and the location was perfect for what I needed. It's true that dinner is not close by but the hotel is quiet and well appointed. Free Wi - Fi is handy and parking a car next door was a bonus. Close to the Restart Mall and this is the place to find breakfast - The Mockingbird Cafe. Staff at the hotel were helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the street and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Scott J
Thank you for your review on Hotel 115. Yes I do understand it is quite limited but recently a Japanese restaurant opened its doors and soon a Chinese restaurant will open right on our doorsteps as well as an excellent steakhouse 5 minute walk from us so thankfully there will be more variety to choose from if you come to visit again, which we do hope you do. Very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanking you, Sarah Niu, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a Grabone voucher for room and breakfast. A good deal. Hotel was modern, great location, tasteful decor, quiet. However, anyone using this voucher should be aware that breakfast food in the fridge does not include the juices. Milk and yoghurt in fridge is included and juices are charged at $6 each. There was no checklist to indicate what is minibar v complimentary breakfast. Breakfast was very good and yum. Also, the room has no aircon. And no sky tv. All good for us as weather was mild. And Novotel bar next door had sky sport in bar, so could watch the cricket there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jill B

Thank you for your review on Hotel 115 and glad to see you made good use of your grabone voucher and you enjoyed the breakfast. Yes you are correct we don’t have air con but we do have really good fans upon request if needed. As regards to sky it is stated on all websites that it is digital but it is something we will look into for the future. Thanking you, Sarah Niu, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

What a great boutique hotel with very helpful staff. We stayed for two nights in early January and were pleased with the hotel. It is modern and well equipped.

The hotel staff gave us some fantastic recommendations of places to eat which was great. Highly recommend this spot. It doesn't have proper aircon though which would make it very hot in high temps.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear ACSydney,

Thank you for your very nice review on Hotel 115 and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself with us and the staff were helpful.
Regards to the air con, unfortunately our building is quite old (one of few still standing from the quakes, thankfully) so we don't have any but we do have really good fans available upon request. Thanking you, Sarah Niu, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were looking for a hotel in the city center of Christchurch and this one
certainly is. But sadly, Christchurch is still under serious construction due
to the earthquakes that hit it so hard. So at 7:00pm, there wasn't much
around us that was open, and in some cases open for business.
This property offers everything it says it does, it's very nice and boutique like.
Our room was spacious and had a slight city view, also a window
that opened about 3 inches.
The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very nice.
The only complaint I have is that there is no air conditioner or ceiling fan.
The room was very still, even with the window open.

Room Tip: If you travel during a time when you'd need a/c, make sure your window is facing the way the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4pamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear 4pamalama
Thank you for your review on Hotel 115. Yes Christchurch was severely hit from the earthquakes but thankfully construction is coming on and more things are starting to open and everyone has a great positive outlook that will get us there eventually, so you must come back for a visit in a few years, I’m sure you will be shocked with the changes and the future Christchurch. 
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. Yes unfortunately our building is very old (one of the few which survived, thankfully) but we don’t have air con but we do have good fans for the rooms upon request. Thank you for your review, Sarah Niu, the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 115 Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 115 Christchurch

Property: Hotel 115 Christchurch
Address: 115 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Hotel Off The Square)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 115 Christchurch 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 115 is a locally owned contemporary boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. The chic hotel design brings a feeling of luxury and elegance but with a modern, eclectic style. Behind bespoke yellow doors, the hotel’s thirty rooms boast a mix of classic as well as modern features. A relaxing place full of modern charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 115 Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off The Square Hotel
Off The Square Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing