We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life in the heart of Christchurch”
Review of C1 espresso

C1 espresso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: C1 Espresso is an iconic Christchurch café located in the central city. We reopened in the old High Street Post Office after our original premises, established in 1996, were destroyed in the Canterbury earthquakes. We are renowned for our pioneering espresso, big breakfasts, and vibrant atmosphere. We're open from 7am to 10pm, 7 days a week. C1 proudly sources and produces many of its own products in a green and sustainable way. We're a creative team, and you'll notice that we do things a bit differently. At the heart of our café is our passion for quality. It’s hard to explain in a few words what C1 is all about. So feel free look over our reviews, good and bad, and get to know us better. And then why don’t you drop into our premises on the corner of Tuam and High Streets to experience C1 for yourself. Order a set of sliders, delivered to your table through our pneumatic tubes. Try a Colombian cold drip or freshly squeezed orange juice on a hot summers day, or grab a coffee made to perfection by one of our talented baristas. Established 1996. Re-established 2012.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
451 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Life in the heart of Christchurch”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This quirky cafe in the heart of Christchurch is a great place for brunch - especially outside on a sunny day (but when the nor'wester isn't blowing!!). I haven't seen pinball machines for years, so had to have a go. The food is really good, and the coffee great but the service was a bit slow on Sunday when we went and we had to chase it up. The 'super choice bro' breakfast is just the thing on a Sunday morning, and the eggs bene were really exceptuional as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    156
    51
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee, interesting location”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

C1's new location, just over the road from their former and now demolished building, is in the iconic High Street Post Office. It's always been a unique cafe, with fascinating and intriguing decor, and this continues in the new location. Check out the door to the toilets - a funky sliding bookcase, no less. The food and the service continues its former high standard and the coffee is the best. There's a great outdoor seating area. You should check it out!
I believe they initiated a community vegetable garden recently :) How cool!

185 High Street (High Street Post Office, Corner of High & Tuam Streets), Christchurch

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daring2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We called in for brunch on a weekday morning.
Fabulous building and decor in the middle of the rubble. Great outdoor seating with a vege/herb garden.
Loved the funky door to get to the bathrooms (An automatic sliding book case door)
Our brunch was tasty and I had the muesli with berry coulis - yum.
I did asked for a mocha EXTRA hot but it wasn't (mind you whenever I ask for an extra hot only one out of two get it right)
Staff looked tidy and had great logos on their black tee shirts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good coffee with a unique setting”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This cafe is very unique, with japanese comic art painting on the wall and retro pinball machines. The coffee is decently priced and of good quality, the mocha is my favourite (it comes with a chocolate marshmallow). The service is pleasant however, you will find that the waiters will quickly snatch up your cups, cutlery and plates the second you've finished eating without asking. I found this quite rude and intrusive but it might have to do with their limited amount of kitchenware?

There food is quite expensive from the mini fridge area. A small sausage roll could set you back 8 dollars but the taste and quality is unknown (maybe it's excellent but the price has already deterred me from even trying)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and coffee”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped in for coffee and ended up staying for breakfast. Food was really good, we both completely cleared our plates and noticed the people at the table next to us do the same! Great coffee as well, would definitely come back here and bring friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C1 espresso also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to C1 espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing