We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do to understand Christchurch situation”
Review of Quake City

Quake City
Ranked #9 of 237 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must do to understand Christchurch situation”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent two days in Christchurch (feb 2014). The first day was a real shock as the vast majority of the city is ruined, demolished or waiting to be. We couldn't understand why so little seemed to have been done 3 years after the quake. We visited Quake City on the second day and it put things in perspective for us. The effect of the quake was huge. Over 1000km road needed to be repaired and 80% of the buildings in the central business district needed to be demolished. More so its the liquification that shifted so much underground across the region that ruined roads, homes and buildings.
Quake City is in the Re-Start Mall made from converted shipping containers. It's a must do for any visitor to support the economy and understand what happened. Not to mention to hear the stories and admire the spirit of the locals.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazouski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    353
    71
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Informative, well presented display. We spent about an hour & a half here. A good backdrop to our stay in Christchurch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TMB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well worth doing”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Well put together presentation on the big quake. Very moving at times as well as educational audio visuals are excellent

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcgrann54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very moving tribute to the ChCh Earthquake”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was very keen to visit Quake City to see some of the relics saved from the Christchurch Earthquake, especially with Christchurch being my hometown. I was not disappointed. It was very moving as well as interesting. I would highly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiouru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“THOUGHT PROVOKING”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

You can spend your time looking at a city in recovery or wonder what makes people stay. The devastation is still very evident with thousands of vacant lots awaiting new buildings or grass to cover their damaged sub surfaces. The roads show the effects of the rolling nature of the quakes with most still awaiting repair of the services that follow the same course.
For all that it is still a beautiful city and one I will return to as I find the resilience and optimism of some of its residents infectious You need to visit, spend some time and money and be part of their recovery.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quake City also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Quake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing