We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BASE Woodfired Pizza

BASE Woodfired Pizza
Ranked #11 of 956 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We prepare and cook woodfired pizzas to order with only fresh and local ingredients. We provide vegetarian and gluten free options.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“The food experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have had various pizzas in my time ..mostly greasy things with no imagination..but not this!! .Base served up a real treat ..crispy base and plenty of toppings..the lamb was plentiful and it was super.The owner and staff made you feel really welcome.

What more can i say..but ill be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinkeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the feedback - great to know we have happy customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    51
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent! Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The best pizza! We stumbled upon Base while exploring the ReStart centre. Just loved the pizza, the way it was cooked, and the simplicity of the whole street-side thing. And took no time at all. Clearly very popular! And we could see why. Pity we live in Auckland-I think this would be a regular stop for us if we lived near. Until next time....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hey Guys - great to hear you enjoyed our pizzas and that you had a chance to check out the Restart Mall .Such a lovely atmosphere thanks to all the awesome visitors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best pizza outside Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The only pizza I've ever had that rivaled this was made in an ancient stone oven near Bologna, Italy. Was in town as a tourist and had a quick look around before deciding on a plain old cheese pizza for lunch. I had no idea I was in for such a treat, it was the best darn pizza I've had in years! Well done guys, maybe the shipping container makes it taste even better!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canada-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
So nice to hear feedback like this - our aim is to do just what you said, so even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Try butter chicken pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The pizza here was very nice especially the butter chicken pizza. The service was not bad either and also having some lovely outdoor public seating in front of the shop. I will definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank natBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the review - so awesome that you enjoyed our butter chicken!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful pizza and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

As a resident of Christchurch I have visited BASE a number of times to consistently great food and a good laugh with the friendly staff. A must for locals and tourists alike

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liamp92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the review - great to have some feedback not only on the food but the service too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BASE Woodfired Pizza also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to BASE Woodfired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing