We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant group dining experience”
Review of Chillingworth Road

Chillingworth Road
Ranked #45 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant group dining experience”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our business group of Directors and wives dined here recently and enjoyed the 5 course degustation for 85$ . For the quality of the food and the service this was good value. We had a great table of 12 with everyone picking something great worth commenting on. Nice to have a drink at the bar and watch the cooking school finish up then heading into the formal dining part. We had to dine at 830 as it was pretty busy but by then our appetites had really kicked in.
I can't wait to go back, acyually I've booked already.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    41
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Eleven out Ten”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a table of 9 originally it was booked for 6 but the lovely girl on the phone managed to squeeze the extra 3 in even though they were fully booked. Most of us were from Perth but a couple of us had experienced Darren's skills in the past at Harbour (Akaroa) - and he certainly did not disappoint us this time either. From the starters to the dessert it was faultless, fresh exquisitely flavoured in every delicious morsel and the presentation excellent, the service was friendly, helpful and delightfully casual but very professional. Thanks Darren, Gareth & all the team for a truly wonderful meal and will look forward to coming back when we are next at home. A week later we are still raving about it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
198 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Disappointing in every respect.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Two couples dined here on the Grabone Cocktail 3 course degustation deal. It was $125 for 4(the deal was as expected too good to be true) and we are pleased we did not pay any more. First let me start by saying that we had heard good things about this restaurant and were excited to see a grabone deal available.

Our first mistake was not to scroll down the page to the 'see more' area where we would have been alerted to the food that we were going to get. Our expectations were to get three courses(we thought an entree, main and dessert each accompanied by a cocktail). Our other expectation was that we would be dining in the restaurant. We were wrong on both accounts.

We arrived at booked time to be shown a table in the corner of the bar(with tv going) and left there for at least 25 mins. We thought we were then going to be shown in to the restaurant but then a server bought a bucket of utensils and plonked them on the table. Then came course one. A sweet passionfruit cocktail with a teaspoon of pate and three very small bits of bread(bitesize) on a plate. Then a jar of mojito with 3 small beef skewers. Course two. The server than asked us if we wanted to order and buy more food because the dessert was next. We declined(didnt expect that our deal would not be sufficient food). Lastly a triangle of tiramisu with a tiramisu cocktail. All 3 cocktails tasted like mocktails and were not well presented. One had to laugh at the words that accompanied our deal....'take a journey through perfectly paired food and cocktails to arrive at the ultimate gastronomic destination... the culinary craftmanship of an award winning chef'. The service was very average and the food and cocktails equally so.

Although we had not paid a lot, it was still not worth it. We have learnt from our mistake...we got what we bought. Still, we got to have a laugh about it with friends and I'm hopeful the people in the dining room at the back were having a better experience as it seems most people have.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank micsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb food, excellent service.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a fabulous meal at Chillingworth Road, a large group. What a wonderful dining experience, superb food, well presented and excellent service. We chose the 5 course off the a la carte menu - 14 in our group and they all thoroughly enjoyed their choices. Interesting menu. We have re-booked already. Recommend for couples or large groups. Dining experience a must for fine dining and one of the best meals we have had in Christchurch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyISL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food, service needs improvement”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Menu proposition is great. We chose the $70 , 5 course menu.
Food was beautiful, flavours and presentation.
Our french waitress was lovely smiley and knowledgeable but one of the men waiter was clumsy. Our courses arrived, he did not remember who had ordered what, he was obviously nervous and this resulted in passing the plates around twice as they had been given to the wrong person.
Staff could be a bit more polished.
Toilets untidy
Overall good food experience but the overall restaurant experience is not there yet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karinegaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chillingworth Road also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Chillingworth Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing